Aron Mir Haschemi: “Safe Havens” for Refugees [PDF]

 19.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

A European Project to Avert Migration and Difficulties in Returning Asylum Seekers?

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-339-6 SKU: 339 Category: Tags: , , , , ,

Description

2005
99 pp.
Text language(s): English

A history of and reasoning behind the concept of extraterritorial refugee sites, called safe havens in the public discourse, is provided in this study. Since the 1990s, this concept has been used by the United States of America to accommodate asylum seekers from Haiti and Cuba. From 1998, the government of Australia introduced safe havens for refugees – first within its own territory, then in small islands of the South Pacific belonging to other states. Over time, this caused uproar in civil society at both national and international level.

The author analyses how the United Kingdom learnt from American and Australian experiences. The implementation of new migration and refugee policies in the late 1990s aimed at avoidance of influx of asylum seekers. It was therefore meant to avert difficulties in returning them to the country of origin once an application had been turned down. With the same rationale and to share the burden of extraordinarily high immigration numbers with fellow EU members, the UK proposed extraterritorial refugee safe havens as a common EU strategy to cope with asylum seekers.

Aron Mir Haschemi describes the development of the proposal to the EU from the onset in February 2003 through to the discussion following the European Council meeting in Thessaloniki in late June of that year. The legal and political analysis shows that European policy debate and policy making will now tend towards extraterritorial migrant and refugee handling. Aron Mir Haschemi was trained as an international lawyer in France. He now works in the German Foreign Ministry.

Aron Mir Haschemi: “Safe Havens” for Refugees [PDF]

 19,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.

A European Project to Avert Migration and Difficulties in Returning Asylum Seekers?

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-339-6 Artikelnummer: 339 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2005
99 Seiten

Textsprache(n): Englisch

Die vorliegende, vom Verfasser überarbeitete Diplomarbeit beschreibt die Geschichte und die Schlussfolgerungen des Konzepts der extraterritorialen Flüchtlingslager, den sogenannten safe havens innerhalb des öffentlichen Diskurses. Seit den 1990-er Jahren wird dieses Konzept in den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika durchgeführt, um Asylsuchende aus Haiti und Kuba zu beherbergen. Seit 1998 bietet auch die Regierung von Australien safe havens für Asylsuchende an – zunächst innerhalb des eigenen Territoriums, danach auf kleinen Inseln im Südpazifik, die anderen Staaten angehören. Mit der Zeit verursachte dies großen Aufruhr auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Der Autor analysiert, wie Großbritannien aus den Erfahrungen Amerikas und Australiens lernt. Die Durchsetzung einer neuen Einwanderungs- und Flüchtlingspolitik in den späten 1990-ern zielte auf die Vermeidung eines Zustroms von Asylsuchenden. Sie war demnach dazu geschaffen, Schwierigkeiten bei der Rückführung der Asylbewerber in ihr Ursprungsland zu umgehen, sobald ein Gesuch abgelehnt wurde. Mit demselben Grundprinzip und in der Absicht, dieselbe Last hoher Einwanderungszahlen mit den EU-Nachbarstaaten zu teilen, schlug Großbritannien extraterritoriale Flüchtlingslager als gemeinsame EU-Strategie vor, um den Flüchtlingsströmen gewachsen zu sein.

Aron Mir Haschemi beschreibt die Entwicklung dieses Vorschlages an die EU von Beginn im Februar 2003 über das Treffen des Europarates in Thessaloniki im Juni desselben Jahres bis hin zur noch immer fortdauernden Diskussion. Die gesetzliche und politische Analyse zeigt, dass die europäische Politik immer mehr dazu tendiert, in den extraterritorialen safe havens die Lösung der Migranten- und Flüchtlingsströme zu sehen. Aron Mir Haschemi studierte internationales Recht in Frankreich. Er ist heute im Auswärtigen Dienst der Bundesrepublik Deutschland tätig.