Arsène Roux: La vie berbère par les textes [PDF]

 39.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Parlers du sud-ouest marocain (tachelhit) – Ethnographic texts re-edited, translated into English by John Cooper

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-923-7 SKU: 923 Category: Tags: , , , , , ,

Description

2009
XII, 223 pp.

Text language: English

The French berberologist Arsène Roux (1893–1971) dedicated a great part of his life to the study of the Berber languages of Morocco. The ethnographic text collection La vie berbère together with four other compilations makes up a series of compendia assembled and annotated by Roux and intended as study material for scholars of the Moroccan Berber languages. In 1955, this compilation was published as volume I of the series Collection de textes berbères marocains by Éditions Larose in Paris. The newly edited first part of this publication contains original texts of the Berber language varieties of the Souss plain and the Anti-Atlas as well as of the region around Marrakech. They treat of the material sphere of the life of the Berber people of Southwest Morocco.

Everyday life of this ethnic group is reflected in discussions and monologues treating of topics such as traditional homesteads, clothing, agriculture and animal husbandry. Artisanry and trade with surrounding peoples are as important in this ethnographic study as views on the weather, occurrences of sickness and death and life philosophies in general. This publication presents a first time translation into English. The linguistic footnotes by Roux are amended by further comments of the editors and translators.

Not only of interest to linguists and berberologists, even more than 50 years after ist first publication this ethnographic description of traditional Berber culture in Morocco still is a major enrichment for cultural sciences in general and the Oriental studies especially.

You may also like…

Arsène Roux: La vie berbère par les textes [PDF]

 39,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Parlers du sud-ouest marocain (tachelhit) – Ethnographic texts re-edited, translated into English by John Cooper

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-923-7 Artikelnummer: 923 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2009
XII, 223 Seiten

Textsprache: Englisch

Der französische Berberologe Arsène Roux (1893–1971) widmete einen großen Teil seines Lebens der Untersuchung der Berbersprachen in Marokko. Die ethnographische Textsammlung La vie berbère gehört neben vier anderen Sammlungen zu einer Serie von Kompendien, die Roux als Lehrmaterial für Studierende der marokkanischen Berbersprachen zusammenstellte und mit Anmerkungen versah. 1955 wurde die Kompilation als Band I der Reihe Collection de textes berbères marocains bei Éditions Larose in Paris veröffentlicht. Der nun neu herausgegebene Teil 1 dieses Werkes enthält Originaltexte der Berber-Sprachvarietäten der Sous-Ebene und des Anti-Atlas’ sowie der Region um Marrakesch. Sie nehmen Bezug auf materielle Bereiche des Lebens der Berber in Südwest-Marokko. Das alltägliche Leben dieser Volksgruppen wird in Gesprächen und längeren Textpassagen bildhaft wiedergegeben.

Themen wie traditionelle Wohnstätten, Kleidung, Land- und Viehwirtschaft und der Handel mit umliegenden Dörfern sind hier ebenso Gegenstand wie Diskussionen über das Wetter, Krankheiten und Todesfälle und allgemeine Lebensansichten der berberischen Kultur. Für die vorliegende Ausgabe wurden die Texte erstmals ins Englische übersetzt. Darüber hinaus wurden die sprachbezogenen Hinweise Roux’ um weitere Anmerkungen der Herausgeber und Übersetzer ergänzt.

Diese Erstübersetzung ist nicht nur für Linguisten und Berberologen von Interesse. Auch ist diese ethnologische Beschreibung der traditionellen Berber-Kulturen Marokkos nach mehr als 50 Jahren noch immer höchst relevant für die Kulturwissenschaften im Allgemeinen und die Orientalistik im Speziellen.

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen …