Assibi Apatewon Amidu: Reflexives and Reflexivization in Kiswahili Grammar [PDF]

 69.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-028-9 SKU: 028 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Description

2004
XVIII, 527 pp.
numerous tables, charts and diagrams, index

Text language: English

Many questions concerning reflexivity in Kiswahili still have not been answered adequately. The intention of this study is to determine what reflexives are in Kiswahili and to understand their nature and functions. The implications of the reflexive study found in this book, have never before been undertaken elsewhere. The work therefore queries the claims of corporate linguistic theories and models on the subject of argument structure, transitiveness, binding and anaphor relations in grammars. It also challenges the salient claims of syntactic theory generally regarding subject versus object relations in Kiswahili syntax and ultimately in general linguistics.

There are four linguistic units in Kiswahili that qualify as reflexive or reflexive-like markers: one adjectival stem, two nouns, and one affix. Because of the diversity of these expressions which are all glossed self in traditional descriptions, the present book is also a work about syntactic patterns and relations, about transitivity, the status of class affixes in the grammar, and the consequences for Kiswahili syntax and the morphology of classes.

This work is aimed at researchers who are interested in exploring the interface between syntactic structures or patternings, on one side, and class morphology and micro-syntax, on the other. It is also useful to advanced students and scholars who are interested in Kiswahili or Bantu studies, or in linguistics in general.

Assibi Apatewon Amidu: Reflexives and Reflexivization in Kiswahili Grammar [PDF]

 69,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN ISBN 978-3-89645-028-9 Artikelnummer: 028 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2004
XVIII, 527 Seiten
zahlreiche Tabellen, Übersichten und Diagramme, Index

Textsprache: Englisch

Reflexivität hat in der bisherigen Forschungsgeschichte des Swahili viele Fragen offen gelassen. Die Intentionen des Autors sind eine Definition der Reflexive sowie ein besseres Verständnis ihres Wesens und ihrer Funktionen. Seine innovative Vorgehensweise sowie die hier entwickelten Implikationen sind in der wissenschaftlichen Literatur in dieser Form noch nicht aufgetreten. Sie fordern die Ansichten der allgemeinen linguistischen Theorien und Modelle in Bezug auf Argumentstruktur, Transitivität, Bindungs- und Anapherrelationen gar heraus. Ebenso werden Subjekt und Objekt nicht – wie in der Syntaxtheorie allgemein und auch dem Swahili konstatiert – lediglich als komplementäre Gegenspieler verstanden und analysiert.

Es finden sich vier sprachliche Einheiten im Swahili, die als Reflexiv-Markierer fungieren können: ein Adjektivstamm, zwei Nomen und ein Affix. Die Diversität der Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten – die dennoch alle mit self übersetzt werden – ist hierbei offensichtlich. Aufgrund dessen beschäftigt sich dieses Buch ebenfalls mit syntaktischen Mustern und Relationen, dem Status der Klassenaffixe in der Grammatik sowie den daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen für Syntax und Morphologie des Swahili.

Die vorliegende Studie richtet sich an Forscher und Wissenschaftler, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen syntaktischen Strukturen und Mustern einerseits und Klassenmorphologie und Mikrosyntax andererseits interessiert sind. Doch auch für Studenten und Lehrende des Swahili, der Bantuistik oder der allgemeinen Sprachwissenschaft, ist dieses Werk von großem Nutzen.