Beatrix Heintze [Hrsg.]: Max Buchners Reise nach Zentralafrika 1878–1882 [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Briefe, Berichte, Studien

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-160-6 SKU: 160 Category: Tags: , , , ,

Description

1999
539 pp.
1 map, 1 b/w photo, 65 line drawings

Text language: German

Livingstone’s and Stanley’s transcontinental explorations in Africa met with tremendous public interest across Europe. In Germany, one of the consequences of this public interest was the founding of the German Society for Exploring Equatorial Africa by the doyen of German Anthropology, Adolf Bastian, in 1873. The society was dedicated to the ‘urgent task of leaving no stretch of our globe untrodden and therefore unknown’. Of all the research expeditions carried out in south-western Africa in the years that followed, Max Buchner’s (1878–1882) is the only one whose course and results were not later circulated in book form. As a result, Buchner’s experiences and observations are only to be found in brief, widely scattered newspaper and magazine articles, which are difficult to access today and can only be tracked down through great expenditure of time and money.

Buchner’s expedition to Africa has therefore never received the same attention as other voyages of discovery in his generation. However, as Buchner was among the first visitors to the Lunda kingdom and spent six months there, his reports contain a wide variety of observations which are of considerable significance as historical source material, especially since there are few eye-witness reports of central Africa from this period. In addition, Buchner’s reports shed light on the general conditions under which these early expeditions were carried out, and provide evidence of both the general and anthropological attitudes of Europeans towards Africans at that time.

Max Buchner’s letters, reports and studies concerning his journey to Lunda are collected and republished in this volume, which also includes a detailed introduction and a biographical sketch. Now that it is accessible, this material should receive the attention from scholars that it deserves.

Beatrix Heintze [Hrsg.]: Max Buchners Reise nach Zentralafrika 1878–1882 [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Briefe, Berichte, Studien

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-160-6 Artikelnummer: 160 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , ,

Beschreibung

1999
539 Seiten
1 Karte, 1 s/w-Foto, 65 Gravuren und Strichzeichnungen, Orts- und Namensregister

Textsprache: Deutsch

Das große publizistische Echo, das die Afrikadurchquerungen von Livingstone und Stanley auch in Deutschland gefunden haben, wirkten hier als gewaltige Impulse und führten 1873 zur Gründung der Deutschen Gesellschaft zur Erforschung Aequatorial-Africas durch den Nestor der deutschen Ethnologie, Adolf Bastian. Von den Forschungsunternehmen, die in den folgenden Jahren im südlichen Westafrika durchgeführt wurden, war Max Buchners Lunda-Expedition (1878–1882) das einzige, dessen Verlauf und Ergebnisse später nicht in Buchform bekannt gemacht wurden. Seine Erfahrungen und Beobachtungen finden sich daher nur weit verstreut in kleinen Zeitungs- und Zeitschriftenartikeln. Sie sind heute schwer zugänglich und nur mit großem zeitlichen und finanziellen Aufwand überhaupt aufzuspüren.

Seine Afrika-Expedition hat daher auch nie dieselbe Aufmerksamkeit gefunden wie die anderer Entdeckungsreisender seiner Generation. Da Buchner aber zu den ersten Besuchern des Lunda-Reiches zählt und dort sechs Monate verbrachte, enthalten seine Berichte vielfältige Informationen und Eindrücke, die heute noch für die Afrikaforschung einen erheblichen Quellenwert besitzen, weil es aus dieser Zeit erst sehr wenige Augenzeugenberichte aus dem afrikanischen Inneren gibt. Auch werfen sie ein Licht auf die Rahmenbedingungen und die Art und Weise der Durchführung dieser frühen Forschungen und spiegeln sowohl die grundsätzlichen als auch die ethnologischen Einstellungen, mit denen man damals den Afrikanern gegenübertrat.

Mit der Vereinigung und Wiederveröffentlichung in diesem Band (mit einer ausführlichen Einführung und biographischem Abriss) sollen Max Buchners Briefe, Berichte und Studien über seine Lunda-Reise stärker in das Bewusstsein der Forschung gerückt, ihre Benutzung angeregt und wesentlich erleichtert werden.