Beatrix von Heyking: A Grammar of Belanda Boor [PDF]

 59.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Phonology and Morphology

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-664-9 SKU: 664 Category: Tags: , , ,

Description

2013
XII, 230 pp.
1 colour map, 8 graphs, 12 tables and numerous charts

Text language: English

The Boor are an ethnic group of estimated 8.000 people, distributed in the provinces of Bahr-el-Ghazal and Western Equatoria of South Sudan. Although the arrival of the Boor in the region is believed to have taken place only a rough 300 years ago, this area is perceived by all speakers as their traditional homeland. The Boor language is classified by Storch (2005) as a Nilo-Saharan language, which is further subclassified as Nilotic, Western-Nilotic, Northern-Lwoo. It is the smallest language of the subgroup and closely related to Shilluk, Anywa, Jur, Thuri, Päri and the Southern Lwoo languages. Due to its immense influence, the Ubangi language Belanda Bviri is of great importance to any study of Belanda Boor.

The name Belanda Boor is a composition of the autonym Boor and the Central-Sudanic Bongo word beerlanda. In Bongo, beer is the overall ethnonym for all their Lwoo speaking neighbours whereas landa means ‘hill, mountain’ the composite thus referring to the Lwoo of the hills, the hill dwellers. Today this rather descriptive Bongo name includes the genetically unrelated group of the Ubangian Bviri. The name therefore highlights one of the most defining aspects for both the language and the community of speak­ers: the close alliance with the Ubangian Bviri. The intriguing facts lie in the persisting bilingualism of the speakers and a conservation of the Lwoo lexicon while the grammar shows a progressing structural convergence.

The incentives for a linguistic study of Belanda Boor chiefly originated from two aspects: first of all Boor was a nearly undocumented language and second it promised most interesting insights concerning the implications of language contact. The main basis for this work was provided by data gathered during two periods of intensive fieldwork conducted in Khartoum in 2007.

The intention of this work is to provide a descriptive grammar in accordance with Basic Linguistic Theory. The realm of this volume is however restricted to the phonology and morphology of the language. Syntax and pragmatic are intended to be described in a following volume. Thus this study comprises first an over­view of the phonology of Boor dealing with the inventory of phonemes, the phonologic processes as well as the consideration of historic changes, and a second part dedicated to the morphology.

This part is organ­ised in several chapters. Here the noun, the noun phrase and the pronominals are described. A further chapter is dedicated to the documentation of the verb and the verbal system. Concluding the description of the different word classes are two subsequent chapters on closed word classes and ideophones. Finally in form of a last chapter a conclusion is drawn.

Beatrix von Heyking: A Grammar of Belanda Boor [PDF]

 59,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Phonology and Morphology

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-664-9 Artikelnummer: 664 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , ,

Beschreibung

2013
XII, 230 Seiten
1 Farbkarte, 8 Grafiken, 12 Tabellen und zahlreiche Übersichten

Textsprache: Englisch

Die Boor sind eine ethnische Gruppe von schätzungsweise 8.000 Personen, beheimatet in den Bundes­staaten Bahr-el-Ghazal und West-Äquatoria der Republik Südsudan. Obwohl die Boor erst vor etwa 300 Jahren in diese Region eingewandert sind, wird sie von allen Angehörigen dieser Sprechergruppe als ange­stammte Heimat empfunden. Die Boor-Sprache wurde von Storch (2005) als Nilo-Saharanisch klassifiziert, mit einer Unterklassifizierung in Nilotisch, West-Nilotisch, Nord-Luo. Innerhalb dieser Unterfamilie ist das Boor die Sprache mit der geringsten Sprecherzahl und nahe verwandt mit dem Shilluk, Anywa, Jur, Thuri, Päri und den südlichen Luo-Sprachen. Wegen seines immensen Einflusses ist das Belanda Bviri, eine der Ubangi-Sprachen, für jede Sprachstudie des Belanda Boor von größter Wichtigkeit.

Die Bezeichnung Belanda Boor stellt eine Komposition aus dem Endonym Boor und dem zentral-sudani­schen Bongo-Begriff beerlanda dar. Im Bongo ist beer das generelle Ethnonym für alle luo-sprachigen Nachbarn, wohingegen landa ‚Hügel, Berg‘ bedeutet; somit bezieht sich dieses Komposita auf die bergbewohnenden Luo. Heutzutage schließt dieser eigentlich deskriptive Bongo-Name die Angehörigen der genetisch nicht verwandten Ubangi-Bviri mit ein. Der Name hebt somit einen der prägendsten Aspekte auf die Sprache und ihre Sprechergemeinschaft hervor: das enge Bündnis mit den Ubangi-Bviri. Die faszinieren­den Auswirkungen finden sich in der bestehenden Zweisprachigkeit und einer Konservierung des Luo-Wort­schatzes, während die Grammatik eine fortschreitende strukturelle Konvergenz aufzeigt.

Der Anstoß zu dieser Sprachstudie ist vorrangig zwei Umständen geschuldet: erstens ist das Boor bislang kaum dokumentiert und zweitens verspricht es äußerst interessante Einblicke in das Feld der Sprachkontaktforschung. Die hier vorgestellten Ergebnisse beruhen in erster Linie auf Datenmaterial aus zwei Feldforschungsaufenthalten der Autorin in Khartoum im Jahr 2007.

Das Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es, eine deskriptive Grammatik in Übereinstimmung mit der Basic Linguistic Theory anzubieten. Jedoch ist der vorliegende Band auf die Beschreibung von Phonologie und Morphologie be­schränkt; Syntax und Pragmatik sollen in einer Folgepublikation behandelt werden. Die Studie bietet zuerst einen Überblick über die Phonologie des Boor, indem das Phoneminventar, die phonologischen Prozesse sowie Erörterungen zum historischen Wandel untersucht werden und einen zweiten, der Morphologie gewidmeten Teil.

In mehreren Kapiteln werden hier Nomen, Nominalphrase und Pronomen beschrieben. Ein weiteres Kapitel widmet sich der Dokumentation des Verbs und des Verbalsystems. Die Beschreibung der verschiedenen Wortklassen wird durch zwei Unterkapitel zu Funktionswörtern und Ideophonen abge­schlossen. Die Schlussfolgerungen aus den vorangegangenen Kapiteln beenden das Werk.