Christa Kilian-Hatz: Khwe Dictionary [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

With a Supplement on Khwe Place-Names of West Caprivi

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2003
X, 431 pp.
1 map, appendix: ethnic, clan, family and personal names

Text language: English

The present study is the result of several field studies of the author in Western Caprivi Strip (Northern Namibia) between 1996 and 2002. It is based on the collected material of Oswin Köhler. Additionally, it contains entries of the following sources: botanic terminology by Mathias Schladt (1999), proper names by Matthias Brenzinger (1999) and several entries on material culture by Gertrud Boden and Stefanie Michels (2000).

Linguistically speaking, Khwe belongs to the Khoisan language family and is classified as a member of the Central-Khoisan group. Khwe itself can be devided into four dialect groups. Nevertheless as a consequence of the war of liberation in Namibia these four dialects are beginning to merge. As a result, one of the main characteristics of the Khwe language at the moment is the existance of large numbers of variants concerning lexical as well as grammatical morphemes. Khwe evidently seems to be developing a new standard that will include parts of all four dialects, but the language is as yet far from being standardised. Today approximately 8,000 Khwe live in the Caprivi Strip of North-Western Namibia, Angola, Botswana and Sambia, just as 1,600 in Smithsdrift, South Africa.

The proper dictionary contains about 5,700 entries consisting of lexical as well as grammatical morphemes. It is preceded by some orthography convention information and is followed by an appendix with ethnonyms, clan, family and proper names just as an article by Matthias Brenzinger which contains a detailed list of place names of Western Caprivi Strip.

Christa Kilian-Hatz: Khwe Dictionary [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

With a Supplement on Khwe Place-Names of West Caprivi

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-083-8 Artikelnummer: 083 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2003
X, 431 Seiten
1 Karte, Anhang: Ethnonyme, Klan-, Familien- und Eigennamen

Textsprache: Englisch

Die vorliegende Studie ist das Ergebnis mehrerer Forschungsaufenthalte der Autorin im westlichen Caprivi-Streifen (Nordnamibia) während der Jahre 1996-2002. Basierend auf dem Material Oswin Köhlers, enthält dieses Wörterbuch außerdem Eintragungen aus folgenden Quellen: Botanische Terminologie von Mathias Schladt (1999), Eigennamen von Matthias Brenzinger (1999) und verschiedene Einträge zur materiellen Kultur von Gertrud Boden und Stefanie Michels (2000).

Khwe gehört aus sprachwissenschaftlicher Sicht zur Familie der Khoisan-Sprachen und ist innerhalb dieser als Mitglied der Zentral-Khoisan-Gruppe einzuordnen. Das Khwe selbst hat vier Dialekte, welche jedoch als Konsequenz des Befreiungskrieges in Namibia immer mehr verschmelzen. Daraus wiederum resultieren die aktuellen Hauptcharakteristika des Khwe, nämlich die beträchtliche Anzahl der Varianten lexikalischer wie auch grammatischer Morpheme. Ganz offensichtlich entwickelt sich aus den vier Dialekten eine neue Standardsprache, welche allerdings noch weit davon entfernt ist, als endgültig standardisiert zu gelten. Zurzeit leben ungefähr 8.000 Khwe im Caprivi-Streifen Nordwest-Namibias, in Angola, in Botswana und in Sambia sowie weitere 1.600 in Smithsdrift, Südafrika.

Dem Lexikon mit etwa 5.700 Einträgen geht eine Beschreibung der Orthographiekonventionen voraus. Im Anhang finden sich Auflistungen der Ethnonyme, Klan-, Familien- und Eigennamen sowie ein etwa vierzigseitiger Beitrag von Matthias Brenzinger, der diese Studie mit einer ausführlichen Liste von Ortsnamen im westlichen Caprivi-Streifen beschließt.