Christa König/Bernd Heine: A Concise Dictionary of Northwestern !Xun [PDF]

 39.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-149-1 SKU: 149 Category: Tags: , , , ,

Description

2008
VI, 186 pp.
1 map, 6 tables, 6 charts

Text language: English

The !Xun language, or as proposed by some researchers, the !Xun language family, consists of a wide variety of dialects that spread from central Angola to northern Namibia and northwestern Botswana. It is considered part of the Khoisan language family and as such shares some lexical and grammatical forms with other South African Khoisan languages. It is, however, unclear whether these similarities stem from a genuine genetic inheritance or merely are a product of language contact. In fact, intelligibility even among the !Xun speakers is fairly low. !Xun speakers of central Angola do not understand !Xun speakers of eastern Namibia and vice versa. Yet clearly defined language borders are not to be found. Therefore all 11-15 dialect forms, depending on the source, must be seen as part of a single, if complex, language.

The work presented here found its beginnings in the year 2000 in preparation of a forthcoming grammatical description of the northwestern dialect cluster done by the authors in the Eenhana District of northern Namibia. As such, the lexical and grammatical items will be intelligible to most !Xun speakers ranging from southern Angola to northern Namibia. Differences to southeastern varieties of the border region of Namibia and Botswana, however, are too pronounced to be of use in that dialect cluster. Of the dialects covered in this work, approximately 15,000 speakers are reported.

The dictionary is introduced with a short phonological overview of the rather complex vowel and consonant system. A short grammatical sketch detailing the noun class system and the isolating structure of the language follows. The !Xun-English part of the dictionary comprises of about 4,200 entries, the English-!Xun part of about 3,200 entries.

Christa König / Bernd Heine: A Concise Dictionary of Northwestern !Xun [PDF]

 39,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 78-3-89645-149-1 Artikelnummer: 149 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , ,

Beschreibung

2008
VI, 186 Seiten
1 Karte, 6 Tabellen, 6 Übersichten

Textsprache: Englisch

Die !Xun-Sprache, oder auch Sprachfamilie, wie von einigen Forschern postuliert, besteht aus einer Reihe von Dialekten, die sich von Zentralangola über Nordnamibia bis hin zum nordwestlichen Teil Botswanas erstrecken. Sie wird als Teil der Khoisan-Sprachfamilie angesehen und teilt sich als solche einige lexikalische und grammatische Formen mit anderen südafrikanischen Khoisan-Sprachen. Es ist jedoch nicht klar, ob diese Gemeinsamkeiten von einem gemeinsamen sprachlichen Hintergrund stammen oder das bloße Produkt von Sprachkontakt sind. Tatsächlich ist die Verständlichkeit unter verschiedenen !Xun-Sprechern relativ klein, jedoch sind klar definierte Sprachgrenzen nicht zu finden. Daraus folgt, dass alle 11-15 Dialekte, je nach Quelle, zu einer einzigen, wenn auch komplexen, Sprache zusammenzufassen sind.

Das vorliegende Werk nahm seinen Anfang im Jahr 2000 als vorbereitende Arbeit zu einer nachfolgend erscheinenden grammatischen Beschreibung des nordwestlichen Dialektkomplexes des Eenhana-Distriktes in Nordnamibia. Daraus folgend sind die lexikalischen und grammatischen Einträge verständlich für die meisten !Xun-Sprecher von Südangola bis Nordnamibia. Linguistische Unterschiede zu den Varietäten des Grenzgebietes zwischen Namibia und Botswana sind allerdings zu ausgeprägt, um dieses Buch dort von Nutzen sein zu lassen. Nach letzten Schätzungen beträgt die Zahl der Sprecher der hier behandelten Dialekte ungefähr 15.000.

Dem Wörterbuch vorangestellt ist ein kurzer phonologischer Überblick des komplexen Vokal- und Konsonantensystems des !Xun, auf den eine grammatische Kurzbeschreibung des Nominalklassensystems und der isolierenden Struktur dieser Sprache folgt. Der !Xun-Englisch-Teil des Wörterbuches besteht aus ungefähr 4.200 Einträgen, während der Englisch-!Xun-Teil ungefähr 3.200 Lemmata aufführt.