Ethelbert E. Kari: A Reference Grammar of Degema [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

A Delta Edoid Language of South-Eastern Nigeria

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-047-0 SKU: 047 Categories: , Tags: , , ,

Description

2004
XIV, 430 pp.
1492 language examples, Lexicon: Structured semantic fields and basic vocabulary, Subject index

Text language: English

This book is the first detailed, descriptive and analytic grammar of Degema, a Delta Edoid language spoken in the south-eastern Nigerian communities of Usokun-Degema and Degema Town. The variety of Degema represented in this book is the Usokun dialect, based on the author’s speech as a native speaker of Degema. This study covers the phonological, morphological and syntactic features of Degema. It also includes basic information on the semantics and lexicon of the language.

Among many striking features of Degema that are described in this book are a vestigial noun class system, an elaborate (anaphoric) clitic system and concordial serial verbs, where in some cases tense-aspect marking on the initial verb is repeated after non-initial verbs, the interaction of tone with negation, tense, aspect and modality, the use of ideophones and cognate objects as a means of intensifying verbal meaning, the use of serial verbs as a major means of clausal coordination, an advanced tongue root vowel harmony in which ten vowels divide neatly into two sets of five each – expanded and non-expanded – distinguished by pharynx size, downdrift and intonation.

In an age when many small languages are being ‘swallowed up’ by big and influential ones, this comprehensive documentation of Degema language is a welcome development for the Degema-speaking community and a credit to the linguistic community.

Ethelbert E. Kari: A Reference Grammar of Degema [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.

A Delta Edoid Language of South-Eastern Nigeria

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-047-0 Artikelnummer: 047 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , ,

Beschreibung

2004
XIV, 430 Seiten
1492 Sprachbeispiele, Lexikon: Strukturierte semantische Felder und Grundvokabular, Sachindex

Textsprache: Englisch

Das vorliegende Werk ist die erste detaillierte, deskriptive und analytische Grammatik des Degema, einer Delta-Edoid-Sprache, gesprochen im südöstlichen Nigeria, auf der Insel Usokun-Degema und in Degema Town. Der Autor – selbst Muttersprachler des Degema – wählte als zu untersuchende Sprachvariante den Usokun-Dialekt. Ausführlich behandelt werden phonologische, morphologische und syntaktische Merkmale des Degema und darüber hinaus grundsätzliche Informationen zu Semantik und Lexikon gegeben.

Besonders herausstechende sprachliche Merkmale des Degema, die hier beschrieben werden, sind unter anderem das rudimentär vorhandene Nominalklassensystem, das stark entwickelte (anaphorische) klitische System und konkordante serielle Verben, das Auftreten von Tempus/Aspekt-Markern nicht nur am einleitenden Verb, sondern ebenfalls an nicht einleitenden Verben, die Interaktion zwischen Ton und Negation, Tempus/Aspekt-System und Modalität, die Verwendung von Ideophonen und verwandter Wörter als ein Mittel zur Intensivierung von verbalen Bedeutungen und die Verwendung von seriellen Verben als Hauptmittel zur Satzgestaltung.

In Zeiten des vermehrten Sprachentods und des Aufgehens von Minderheitensprachen in prestigeträchtigeren Sprachen ist die umfangreiche Dokumentation einer Sprache wie das Degema ein wertvoller Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung, sowohl für die Degema-Sprachgemeinschaft als auch für die linguistische Forschung.