Evelyn Fogwe Chibaka: A Grammatical Description of Metta (Cameroon) in Relation to Focus Parametric Variation [PDF]

 34.80

Includes 7% VAT
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-544-4 SKU: 544 Categories: , Tags: , , ,

Description

2006
IV, 203 pp.
2 maps, numerous tables and graphs

Text language: English

Metta, which means “one who wants to know or acquire knowledge”, is a Narrow Grassfields language and thus belongs to the Bantoid branch of the Niger-Congo language family. This language is also known as Menemo, and it is spoken by about 45,390 speakers in North-West Cameroon (Source: SIL 1982). According to more recent estimation the number of speakers is much higher (183.000 spaekers, Cameroon Association for Bible Translation and Literacy CABTAL, 2010).

This work concentrates on the relationship between focus-marking and wh-fronted questions formation in the Metta language. It also examines how the parametrio-syntactic process involved in their derivation integrates into Universal Grammar principles.

But beforehand the author gives a description of the phonology, and orthography as well as of the nominal and verbal morphology and the word order of the nominal class language in question. What follows is a detailed presentation of the various focus constructions and the interrogatives. For these analyses the study adopts the Generative Syntax Theory, where emphasis will be laid on the Principles and Parameters Theory and the Minimalist Program to explain the syntactic analyses.

Aim of the book is to establish a simplified approach to the derivational processes involved in focus-marking and wh-question formation in Metta, and to establish a single rule for the two syntactic processes. Focus constructions in African languages exhibit a number of trends of general theoretical, typological and methodological significance as related to its definition and scope of the category of focus extension. Thus the book is addressed to general linguists as well as to african linguistics.

Evelyn Fogwe Chibaka: A Grammatical Description of Metta (Cameroon) in Relation to Focus Parametric Variation [PDF]

 34,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-544-4 Artikelnummer: 544 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , ,

Beschreibung

2006
IV, 203 Seiten
2 Karten, zahlreiche Tabellen und Grafiken

Textsprache: Englisch

Metta gehört zu den Grasland-Bantusprachen (Narrow Grassfields) der Niger-Kongo-Sprachfamilie und bedeutet übersetzt „jemand, der wissen oder Wissen ansammeln möchte“. Diese Sprache ist ebenfalls unter dem Namen Menemo bekannt und hat in Nordwest-Kamerun eine Sprecherzahl von etwa 45.390 Menschen (Quelle: SIL 1982). Nach neueren Schätzungen liegt die Sprecherzahl deutlich darüber (183.000 Sprecher, Cameroon Association for Bible Translation and Literacy CABTAL, 2010).

Das vorliegende Werk konzentriert sich vornehmlich auf die Beziehung zwischen Fokusmarkierung und Fragen mit vorangehendem Interrogativpronomen im Metta. Ebenso werden die parametrisch-syntaktischen Prozesse, die in diese Derivation integriert sind, hinsichtlich ihrer universalgrammatischen Prinzipien untersucht.

Zunächst jedoch beschreibt die Autorin die Phonologie und Orthographie ebenso wie die nominale und verbale Morphologie und die Wortstellung dieser Nominalklassensprache. Anschließend werden die Fokuskonstruktionen und die Interrogative detailliert dargestellt. Diese Analysen werden im Rahmen der Generativen Syntaxtheorie vorgenommen, wobei der Prinzipien-und-Parameter-Theorie sowie dem Minimalistischen Programm besondere Aufmerksamkeit zukommt, um die syntaktischen Analysen akkurat zu erläutern.

Ziel der Arbeit ist es, eine vereinfachte Herangehensweise zu den derivationellen Prozessen, die in die Fokusmarkierung und in die Fragen mit vorangehendem Interrogativpronomen involviert sind, zu etablieren und somit eine einzige Regel für diese beiden syntaktischen Prozesse aufzustellen. Fokuskonstruktionen in afrikanischen Sprachen weisen eine Vielzahl von allgemeinen theoretischen, typologischen und methodologischen Besonderheiten auf, die mit der Definition wie auch der Eingrenzung der Kategorie Fokus zusammenhängen. Entsprechend ist dieses Werk sowohl an Afrikanisten als auch an allgemeine Sprachwissenschaftler gerichtet.