Gerald Heusing: Die südlichen Lwoo-Sprachen [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Beschreibung, Vergleich und Rekonstruktion

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2004
XVIII, 383 pp.
1 map, 4 graphs, 58 tables

Text language: German

The present book focusses on the languages Acholi (Uganda), Adhola (Uganda), Alur (Uganda and Democratic Republic of Congo), Kumam (Uganda), Lango (Uganda) and Luo (Kenya and Tanzania). They comprise the group of Southern Lwoo languages and belong to the western branch of the Nilotic language family. The languages are synchronically and diachronically described.

Chapter 1 (Introduction) presents information concerning the state of research and the objectives of the book. In addition, it furnishes the reader with background information towards the individual languages, the sources of information and the writing conventions which are used. Chapter 2 (Phonology) starts with a discussion about the analysis of palatal and bilabial segments between consonants and vowels. It continues with the description of the inventory, distribution, phonetic realisation and quantity of vowels.

With regard to the consonants, first of all an answer is given to the question whether palatal plosives or postalveolar affricates are found in the languages. It follows the description of the inventory, distribution and phonetic realisation of the consonants. Problematic cases like implosives, labiovelars, dentals, nasal compounds and fricatives are dealt with separately. Also morphophonological aspects are treated in this chapter. They comprise the following topics: vowel harmony, consonant harmony and consonant polarity.

Suprasegmental characteristics like word accent, inventory and distribution of tonemes as well as tone sandhi are described, compared and reconstructed in chapter 3 (Tonology). Additionally, a relative chronology of the reconstructed tone rules is introduced. Selected aspects of word-building are presented in chapter 4 (Morphology) which covers dependent and independent subject and object pronouns, cardinal numbers and derived abstract lexemes.

Chapter 5 (Lexicon) is dedicated to the vocabulary. Here, 103 lexemes are compared and reconstructed. Chapter 6 (Internal Typology and Classification) presents an internal typology developed with the help of 20 phonological, tonological and morphological features as well as an internal classification of the Southern Lwoo languages. The book closes with a comprehensive bibliography.

Gerald Heusing: Die südlichen Lwoo-Sprachen [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.

Beschreibung, Vergleich und Rekonstruktion

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-137-8 Artikelnummer: 137 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2004
XVIII, 383 Seiten
1 Karte, 4 Grafiken, 58 Tabellen

Textsprache: Deutsch

Im Fokus des vorliegenden Buches stehen die Sprachen Acholi (Uganda), Adhola (Uganda), Alur (Uganda und Demokratische Republik Kongo), Kumam (Uganda), Lango (Uganda) und Luo (Kenia und Tansania). Diese Sprachvarietäten bilden die Gruppe der südlichen Lwoo-Sprachen und gehören dem Westzweig der nilotischen Sprachen an. Die untersuchten Aspekte dieser Sprachen werden synchron und diachron betrachtet.

Das 1. Kapitel (Einleitung) informiert über den Stand der Forschung sowie die Zielsetzung der Arbeit und gibt Hintergrundinformationen zu den ausgewählten Sprachen, den Datenquellen und den benutzten Schreibkonventionen. Das 2. Kapitel (Phonologie) beginnt mit einer Diskussion über die adäquate Analyse von palatalen und bilabialen Segmenten zwischen Konsonanten und Vokalen. Es schließt sich die Behandlung des Inventars, der Distribution, der phonetischen Realisierung und Quantität der Vokale an.

Hinsichtlich der Konsonanten wird zunächst die Frage beantwortet, ob wir es in den untersuchten Sprachen mit palatalen Plosiven oder postalveolaren Affrikaten zu tun haben. Darauf folgt die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Inventar, der Distribution und der phonetischen Realisierung der Konsonanten. Als Problemfälle werden die Implosive, Labiovelare, Dentale, Nasalverbindungen und Frikative besonders hervorgehoben. Auch die Morphophonologie findet im 2. Kapitel in Form der Vokalharmonie, der Konsonantenharmonie und der Konsonantenpolarität Beachtung.

Im 3. Kapitel (Tonologie) werden suprasegmentale Eigenschaften behandelt. Dazu zählen Wortakzent, Inventar und Distribution der Toneme sowie Tonsandhi. Außerdem wird hier auch eine relative Chronologie der rekonstruierten Tonregeln vorgestellt. Ausgewählte Beispiele der Wortbildung werden im 4. Kapitel (Morphologie) betrachtet. Dabei handelt es sich um unabhängige und abhängige Subjekt- und Objektpronomina, Kardinalia und abgeleitete Abstrakta.

Das 5. Kapitel (Lexik) widmet sich dem Wortschatz. Insgesamt 103 Lexeme werden hier miteinander verglichen und rekonstruiert. Das 6. Kapitel (Interne Typologie und Klassifikation) bietet eine interne Typologie anhand von 20 Merkmalen aus den Bereichen Phonologie, Tonologie und Morphologie sowie eine interne Klassifikation der südlichen Lwoo-Sprachen. Die Arbeit schließt mit einer umfassenden Bibliographie.