Gertrud Schneider-Blum: Proverbs Finish the Problems – máakut(i) t’awá shuultáa [PDF]

 19.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Sayings of the Alaaba (Ethiopia)

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-284-9 SKU: 284 Category: Tags: , , , , , ,

Description

2009
XII, 102 pp.

Text language: English

Alaaba is a Highland East Cushitic language spoken by about 200,000 first and second language speakers. The capital of their area, Alaaba Kuliito, is found 310 km south of Addis Ababa. Proverbs are used in all contexts: during quarrels between families or within a family, to comfort somebody who has a problem with a child or with a neighbour, to comment on misbehaviour or to stress the importance of one’s family. Advice or reproach, which would be considered impolite when administered in plain words, becomes acceptable when couched in proverbs.

In using proverbs, the speaker does not impart his personal opinion but instead conveys an accepted wisdom, i.e. the result of many years of experience of the Alaaba forefathers. A proverb contains a genuine truth. Alaaba is a predominantly agglutinating language, but due to complex morphophonological processes, morphemes cannot always be clearly distinguished on the surface level. To make these distinctions more transparent, an additional morpheme break line is here inserted in between the Alaaba examples (continuous text in bold italics) and the interlinear glossings.

The English translations (which follow the original Alaaba structure and at the same time attempt to be as free and idiomatic as possible in order to facilitate understanding) and – where necessary – an explanation of the meaning of the proverb and/or the circumstances under which the proverb might be used (given in brackets) are added.

Alaaba is not a tone language, but accent plays a crucial role. The relevant rules are described by the author in detail in chapter 2.7 on Prosodic Features in A Grammar of Alaaba (see link below) and are not repeated here. In this book, pitch accent is marked by an acute accent and word-final devoiced vowels are bracketed to facilitate reading. For practical purposes, i.e. to easily find a certain proverb, they are sorted in alphabetical order.

This small booklet of proverbs and sayings serves a number of purposes. It can be used as an additional textbook for those linguists who have read the grammar and who would like to consult further examples. But it is also of interest to those linguists who concentrate on literature, to be more specific, on the poetic aspects of language. Furthermore it gives an interesting insight into the culture of the Alaaba people.

Gertrud Schneider-Blum: Proverbs Finish the Problems – máakut(i) t’awá shuultáa [PDF]

 19,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Sayings of the Alaaba (Ethiopia)

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-284-9 Artikelnummer: 284 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2009
XII, 102 Seiten
Textsprache: Englisch

Das Alaaba zählt zu den hochlandostkuschitischen Sprachen des südlichen Äthiopien und wird von etwa 200.000 Sprechern als Erst- und Zweitsprache gesprochen. Die Hauptstadt dieser Region, Alaaba Kuliito, liegt 310 km südlich von Addis Abeba. Sprichwörter sind in allen gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhängen im Gebrauch: während inner- oder interfamiliärer Streitigkeiten, um jemanden zu ermutigen, der Probleme mit einem seiner Kinder oder einem Nachbarn hat, um schlechtes Betragen zu kommentieren oder um die Wichtigkeit der Familie hervorzuheben. Rat oder Tadel, der offen ausgesprochen als unhöflich empfunden werden würde, wird in der Gestalt eines Sprichwortes akzeptabel.

Mit dem Gebrauch eines Sprichwortes drückt der Sprecher nicht seine eigene Meinung aus, sondern übermittelt vielmehr tradierte und kollektiv akzeptierte Weisheiten der Ahnen. Ein Sprichwort bedeutet Wahrheit. Das Alaaba ist eine vorwiegend agglutinierende Sprache, aber infolge von komplexen morphophonologischen Prozessen können Morpheme auf oberflächlicher Ebene nicht immer klar unterschieden werden. Zur Verdeutlichung dieser Unterschiede wurde eine zusätzliche Zeile zwischen den Alaaba-Beispielen (fortlaufender Text in kursiver Schrift) und der interlinearen Glossierung eingefügt, in der die Morphemgrenzen erkennbar sind.

Die Übersetzung ins Englische (welche der originären Struktur des Alaaba folgt und gleichzeitig versucht so frei und idiomatisch wie möglich zu sein, um ein gutes Verständnis zu ermöglichen) und – wo nötig – eine Erläuterung der Bedeutung des Sprichwortes und/oder der Gelegenheiten in denen es benutzt wird sind hinzugefügt (in Klammern).

Das Alaaba zählt nicht zu den Tonsprachen, jedoch spielt Akzent eine entscheidende Rolle. Die einschlägigen Regeln hierzu sind im Kapitel 2.7 zu den prosodischen Merkmalen des Alaaba in dem 2007 erschienenen Werk A Grammar of Alaaba (siehe Verweis unten) von Schneider-Blum im Detail beschrieben. Zwecks leichteren Auffindens einzelner Sprichwörter sind diese in alphabetischer Reihenfolge angeordnet.

Die vorliegende Sammlung von Sprichwörtern und Redewendungen erfüllt eine Vielzahl von Verwendungszwecken. Linguisten kann sie einerseits als begleitendes Textmaterial zu der erwähnten Grammatik des Alaaba dienen, andererseits als weiterführende Lektüre für oralliterarische Recherchen von Interesse sein. Darüber hinaus bietet dieses Buch einen interessanten Einblick in die Kultur dieser Ethnie.