Günther Schlee / Karaba Sahado: Rendille Proverbs in their Social and Legal Context [PDF]

 29.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2002
IV, 192 pp.
1 map, 1 drawing, 1 table

Text language: English

The Rendille are pastoral nomads inhabiting a wide area in the arid north of Kenya, east of the Ndoto mountain range and lake Turkana and west of Marsabit. Their language is closely related to Somali. In collaboration with Karaba Sahado, a Rendille singer and poet, more than 1,000 proverbs and sayings were gathered for the present study. Sahado occasionally uses proverbs himself in his songs and therefore shares the author’s interest in documenting and analysing this genre of oral literature.

Because of the linguistic differences between Rendille and European languages it was deemed necessary to provide linguistic as well as ethnographical explanations to elucidate the meaning of the Rendille proverbs. To this end the proverbs are subjected first to a morphological analysis, then the morphemes are translated interlinearly and finally an English translation is given. If these measures were deemed insufficient to render the proverb’s meaning sufficiently clear, a further note explaining the proverb’s content was added.

Sometimes longer excursions were necessary because the life-style of the Rendille is rather different from the perspective of western culture. An example are the elaborate marriage rules. Anecdotes and fables are included to provide the reader with further background infromation on the history and oral literature of the Rendille. If possible the situational context where and when the individual proverbs are used is indicated. Especially in the context of legal disputes the appropriate use of proverbs, good rhetoric and the adroit referral to norm and wisdom are highly important in the absence of a body of codified law.

You may also like…

Günther Schlee / Karaba Sahado: Rendille Proverbs in their Social and Legal Context [PDF]

 29,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.

Beschreibung

2002
IV, 192 Seiten
1 Karte, 1 Zeichnung, 1 Tabelle

Textsprache: Englisch

Die Rendille sind Hirtennomaden, die ein großes Gebiet im dürren Nordkenia, östlich des Ndoto-Gebirges und des Lake Turkana und westlich von Marsabit bewohnen. Ihre Sprache ist eng verwandt mit dem Somali. In Zusammenarbeit mit Karaba Sahado, einem Rendille-Sänger und -Dichter, wurden für die vorliegende Untersuchung mehr als 1.000 Sprichwörter gesammelt. Sahado gebraucht gelegentlich Sprichwörter in seinen Liedtexten und teilt daher das Interesse des Autors, dieses Genre oraler Literatur zu dokumentieren und analysieren.

Aufgrund der linguistischen Verschiedenheit des Rendille zu den europäischen Sprachen sind linguistische sowie ethnographische Erklärungen nötig, um die Bedeutung der Rendille-Sprichwörter zu übermitteln. Daher werden die Sprichwörter zunächst einer morphologischen Analyse unterzogen, die Morpheme sodann interlinear übersetzt und schließlich nach den Standards der Zielsprache Englisch übersetzt. In einem vierten Schritt wird die Bedeutung paraphrasiert dargestellt, wenn die Kombination der drei ersten Übersetzungsebenen nicht ausreicht, um die Bedeutung adäquat zu vermitteln.

Die Lebensweise der Rendille erschwert das Verständnis zusätzlich, so dass gelegentlich lange Erklärungen notwendig sind, wie zum Beispiel in Bezug auf Heiratsregeln. Desweiteren werden in Form von Anekdoten und Fabeln Hintergrundinformationen zur Geschichte und oralen Literatur der Rendille gegeben. Wenn möglich, wird zusätzlich der Kontext, in denen die jeweiligen Sprichwörter auftauchen, angegeben. Dabei ist vor allem der juristische Kontext wichtig, da durch das Fehlen kodifizierter Gesetze gute Rhetorik und geschicktes Verweisen auf Norm und Weisheit umso wichtiger sind.

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen …