H. Ekkehard Wolff (ed.): Our People’s Own (Ina Lamang) [PDF]

 39.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Traditions and Specimens of Oral Literature from Gwàɗ Làmàŋ Speaking Peoples in the Southern Lake Chad Basin in Central Africa

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2000
XVI, 403 pp.
1 graph, 7 appendices (original texts and glossaries), size 16 x 22 cm

Text language: English

The central Chadic language Lamang is spoken in northeastern Nigeria and northern Cameroon. However, its estimated 100,000 speakers do not form a separate ethnic group. The present compilation consists of transcriptions of various oral traditions in the Lamang language collected by the editor during two field researches in the Goza region of Nigeria in 1968–1969 and 1973–1974.

The texts deal with the traditional system of beliefs and religious rituals, the human life cycle, traditional law, myths of origin and migration, local history, and a selection of songs, fables and moral tales.

The editor favours an emic perspective, allowing members of the Lamang community to speak for themselves. Thus, the English translations, which form the main part of the book, closely follow the structure of the Lamang texts to reflect their characteristic word order and metaphors as truthfully as possible. Full transcriptions of the Lamang originals are given in an appendix. Additional appendices deal with the kinship systems of several Lamang-speaking groups and provide glossaries of cultural and kinship terms.

You may also like…

H. Ekkehard Wolff (ed.): Our People’s Own (Ina Lamang) [PDF]

 39,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Traditions and Specimens of Oral Literature from Gwàɗ Làmàŋ Speaking Peoples in the Southern Lake Chad Basin in Central Africa

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.

Beschreibung

2000
XVI, 403 Seiten
1 Abbildung, 7 Anhänge (Originaltexte und Glossar)

Textsprache: Englisch

Die zentral-tschadische Sprache Lamang wird im Nordosten Nigerias und im Norden Kameruns gesprochen. Eine separate ethnische Gruppe stellen die etwa 100.000 Lamang-Sprecher jedoch nicht dar. Die vorliegende Studie besteht aus Transkriptionen von mündlichen Traditionen des Lamang, die der Herausgeber während zweier Feldforschungen in den Jahren 1968–1969 sowie 1973–1974 in der Goza-Region Nigerias aufzeichnete.

Die Texte erstrecken sich von Beschreibungen des traditionellen Glaubenssystems und der Rituale, über den Lebenszyklus, traditionelles Recht, Ursprungsmythen und Herkunft, lokale Geschichte sowie Beispiele für Lieder, Fabeln und Märchen. Der Verfasser zieht eine emische Sichtweise vor und lässt die Lamang für sich selbst sprechen.

Im Hauptteil finden sich die englischen Übersetzungen, während in den Anhängen die Lamang-Originaltexte wiedergegeben sind. Die englischen Texte folgen dabei in ihrer Struktur den Lamang-Versionen, um charakteristische Wortstellungen und Metaphern originalgetreu darstellen zu können. Weitere Anhänge beinhalten Beschreibungen des Verwandtschaftssystems einzelner Lamang-Gruppen sowie Glossare kultureller Termini und Verwandtschaftsbezeichnungen.

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen …