H. Ekkehard Wolff: The Lamang Language and Dictionary, Vol. 2 [PDF]

 79.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Documenting Gwàɗ Làmàŋ – Endangered Central Chadic Language in Northeastern Nigeria. Volume 2: A Dictionary of Lamang

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-927-5 SKU: 297 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

2015
609 pp.

Text language: English

The two volumes of The Lamang Language and Dictionary complete a long-term documentation project on this Chadic language which is spoken in north-eastern Nigeria’s Borno and Adamawa States. The author began the research project in the late 1960s and continued to work on it, intermittently and with long periods of inactivity, until early 2014. The language belongs to the Central (also called Biu-Mandara) branch of the Chadic language family, which in turn is part of the Afroasiatic macro-family of languages.

Based on figures of 1993, the population of speakers is given as 40,000 (www.ethnologue.com) but may be considerably higher by now. Its sociolinguistic status in terms of language vitality or endangerment is described as vigorous, meaning that the language is used for face-to-face communication by all generations and the situation is sustainable. With the two part volumes, a rich and linguistically exciting human language has been comprehensively documented and is thus saved from oblivion – hopefully also for a more immediate benefit to its speakers.

Volume XVI.2 contains a comprehensive Lamang-English dictionary based on the rich language corpus of natural discourse which was recorded in linguistic fieldwork between 1968 and 1974 and 1980-1982. It is complemented, in a second part, by an English-Lamang Reference List to identify corresponding lemmata in the dictionary.

H. Ekkehard Wolff: The Lamang Language and Dictionary, Vol. 2 [PDF]

 79,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Documenting Gwàɗ Làmàŋ – Endangered Central Chadic Language in Northeastern Nigeria. Volume 2: A Dictionary of Lamang

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-297-9 Artikelnummer: 297 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , ,

Beschreibung

2015
609 Seiten

Textsprache: Englisch

Die beiden Bände des Gesamtwerkes „The Lamang Language and Dictionary“ vollenden ein langjähriges Dokumentationsprojekt zu dieser Tschadischen Sprache, die in den Bundesstaaten Borno und Adamawa im Nordosten Nigerias gesprochen wird. Der Autor begann seine Forschungen in den späten 1960er-Jahren und arbeitete mit zwischenzeitlichen Unterbrechungen weiter bis Anfang 2014. Das Lamang gehört zum Zentral-Tschadischen Zweig (auch Biu-Mandara genannt) der Tschadischen Sprachfamilie, die wiederum ein Teil der Afroasiatischen Makrofamilie ist.

Die Sprecherzahl liegt bei 40.000 (1993, www.ethnologue.com), was bedeutet, dass die Zahl zum heutigen Zeitpunkt deutlich höher sein kann. Der soziolinguistische Status bezüglich Sprachvitalität und Sprachgefährdung wird als „gebräuchlich / ungefährdet“ beschrieben, die Sprache wird demnach für die direkte Kommunikation innerhalb aller Generationen verwendet. Mit den beiden Bänden des Gesamtwerkes wurde eine äußerst reichhaltige Sprache umfassend dokumentiert, wodurch sie nun davor bewahrt wird, in Vergessenheit zu geraten. Das Werk kann überdies von unmittelbarem Nutzen für Lamang-Sprechende sein.

Der Teilband XVI.2 besteht aus einem umfangreichen Lamang-Englisch-Wörterbuch, das auf einem umfassenden Korpus von Aufnahmen natürlicher Gespräche beruht, die im Rahmen von linguistischer Feldarbeit zwischen 1968 und 1974 sowie 1980 bis 1982 aufgenommen wurden. Dieser Band wird im zweiten Teil durch eine Englisch-Lamang-Referenzliste ergänzt, die dazu dient, zugehörige Zitierformen im Wörterbuch zu identifizieren.