Harry Stroomer: Tashelhiyt Berber Folktales from Tazerwalt (South Morocco) [PDF]

 39.80

Includes 7% VAT

A Linguistic Reanalysis of Hans Stumme’s Tazerwalt Texts with an English Translation

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2002
253 pp.
2 maps, 1 transcription table

Text language: English

The Berber languages, along with old Egyptian and the Chadic, Cushitic, Semitic as well as Omotic languages, belong to the phylum of Afro-Asiatic languages. Nowadays, Berber languages are found from Egypt (Siwa) across Libya and Algeria to Morocco and from the shores of the Mediterranean Sea to south of the Sahara, see berberophone areas on the book covers. Tashelhiyt is the largest single Berber language spoken by about 6 to 8 million people, predominantly in South Morocco.

In this volume the author presents a selection of 46 folktales from the collection of Hans Stumme (1864–1936). The tales originate in the writings of this renowned Lipsian Arabist and Berberologist, titled Märchen der Schluh von Tazerwalt (1895) and Elf Stücke im Silha-Dialekt von Tazerwalt (1894).

The reader will find examples from a wide variety of genres, ranging from fables and animal stories to legends and fairy tales, riddles, tongue-twisters, imam/taleb stories, as well as narrations of jokes, magical and heroic deeds. These stories are of great literary value and appeal because of their narrative clarity.

Harry Stroomer has prepared the selected tales linguistically for the present book by retranscribing Stumme’s sources with the support of Tashelhiyt native speakers. The result is a phonologically and morphologically consistent modernised version of the texts, with the added benefit of English translations. Therefore, this volume displays the wealth of Tashelhiyt storytelling to a wide audience of Berberologists, Orientalists and people in general interested in Moroccan oral literature.

You may also like…

H. Stroomer: Tashelhiyt Berber Folktales from Tazerwalt (South Morocco) [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
 

A Linguistic Reanalysis of Hans Stumme’s Tazerwalt Texts with an English Translation
Berber Studies Volume 4

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.

Beschreibung

2002
253 Seiten
2 Karten, 1 Transkriptionstabelle

Textsprache: Englisch

Die Berbersprachen gehören, zusammen mit den Tschadischen, Kuschitischen, Semitischen, Omotischen Sprachen und Alt-Ägyptisch, zur afro-asiatischen Sprachfamilie. Heutzutage werden die Berbersprachen in einem Gebiet gesprochen, das sich von Ägypten über Libyen und Algerien bis nach Marokko und von der Mittelmeerküste bis in den Süden der Sahara erstreckt (siehe die Karte berberophoner Gebiete auf dem Buchumschlag). Unter den Berbersprachen ist das Tashelhiyt-Berber [dt. Taschelhit] die größte Einzelsprache mit ungefähr 6 bis 8 Millionen Sprechern und findet ihre Verbreitung in Südmarokko.

In diesem Band legt der Autor eine Auswahl von 46 Volkserzählungen aus der Sammlung von Hans Stumme (1864–1936) vor. Sie stammen aus den Publikationen des Leipziger Arabisten und Berberologen mit dem Titel Märchen der Schluh von Tazerwalt (1895) und Elf Stücke im Silha-Dialekt von Tazerwalt (1894).

Der Leser findet Beispiele aus den folgenden Erzählgattungen: Fabeln und Tiererzählungen, Legenden, Märchen, Rätsel, Zungenbrecher, imam/taleb-Geschichten, Erzählungen, Lachgeschichten, Zaubermärchen, Heldenerzählungen. Diese Texte sind von hohem literarischen Wert und überzeugen durch narrative Klarheit.

Harry Stroomer hat die Volkserzählungen für diese Ausgabe linguistisch aufgearbeitet. Dazu re-transkribierte er Stummes Vorlagen unter Beteiligung von Tashelhiyt-Muttersprachlern und erreicht dadurch eine phonologisch und morphologisch einheitlich modernisierte Fassung der Texte, die zudem vollständig ins Englische übertragen wurden. So sind sie für Berberologen, Orientalisten und sonst an marokkanischer Oralliteratur Interessierte von besonderem Nutzen.

In derselben Schriftenreihe sind weitere transkribierte Berber-Textausgaben mit englischer oder französischer Übersetzung sowie literarische Stoffe in Berbersprachen erschienen, ebenso eine Darstellung der Bedeutung Hans Stummes für das Fach Afrikanistik an der Universität Leipzig:

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen …