Inge Brinkman: Singing in the Bush [PDF]

 24.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

MPLA Songs during the War for Independence in South-East Angola (1966–1975)

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2001
110 pp.
5 b/w photos, 1 table

Text language: English

This edition is based on political songs that were composed and performed during the war for independence in south-east Angola. The songs published in the book stem from fieldwork among Angolans residing in Namibia. Thirty song texts are rendered in their original language (Ngangela or Portuguese), with an English translation and extensive notes on the context in which they were sung.

The importance of these songs can hardly be overestimated. During the war political song was used by the MPLA Movimento Popular de Libertação de Angola both in terms of nationalist mobilisation and as a means for civilians to bolster their position vis-à-vis the guerrillas. The importance of the subject prompts the editor to advocate a place for this literary genre in African historiography.

The introduction of the book focuses on the historical dimensions of the MPLA political songs and their relationship with local song/dance traditions in south-east Angola. The book discusses new alleys of research and poses theoretical questions about memory, popular literature and legitimacy.

Inge Brinkman: Singing in the Bush [PDF]

 24,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

MPLA Songs during the War for Independence in South-East Angola (1966–1975)

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.

Beschreibung

2001
110 Seiten
5 s/w-Fotos, 1 Tabelle

Textsprache: Englisch

Politische Lieder, die während des Unabhängigkeitskrieges in Südost-Angola verfasst und gesungen wurden, bilden den Gegenstand der vorliegenden Studie. Aufgenommen wurden diese Lieder im Rahmen einer Feldforschung der Herausgeberin bei in Nord-Namibia wohnenden Angolanern. Die vorgestellten dreißig Lieder – veröffentlicht ihrer Originalsprache (Ngangela oder Portugiesisch) – sind mit einer englischen Übersetzung und ausführlichen Anmerkungen zum Kontext, in dem sie gesungen wurden, versehen.

Der Stellenwert dieser Lieder kann kaum überschätzt werden. Während des Krieges wurden politische Lieder von der MPLA Movimento Popular de Libertação de Angola sowohl im Kontext der nationalen Bewegung eingesetzt als auch zur Stärkung der Position der Zivilbevölkerung gegenüber den Guerillas. Aufgrund der Wichtigkeit des Themas fordert die Herausgeberin für dieses literarische Genre einen angemessenen Platz in der afrikanischen Geschichtsschreibung.

In der Einleitung legt sie den Schwerpunkt auf die historische Dimension der MPLA-Lieder und deren Beziehungen zu lokalen Lied- und Tanztraditionen Südost-Angolas. Das Buch erörtert neue Forschungsbereiche und stellt theoretische Fragen zu den Komplexen Erinnerung, Populäre Literatur und Legitimität.