Jan Blommaert: State Ideology and Language in Tanzania [PDF]

 34.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-024-1 SKU: 024 Category: Tags: , , , ,

Description

1999
204 pp.

Text language: English

The present study analyses how Swahili – the national language of Tanzania – was politicised and incorporated in the nation-building efforts associated with the introduction of Ujamaa ideology in 1967. In particular, the book investigates the influence and effects of Ujamaa ideology on the formation, treatment, discussion, and utilisation of Swahili in the postcolonial society of Tanzania on its way to socialism.

Apart from a history of Ujamaa and the common national culture promoted by it, in which Swahili had pride of place, the study offers thorough analyses of the genesis of intellectual and scientific traditions in postcolonial Tanzania. The development of a local ‘school’ of linguistics is discussed, as well as the emergence of a heavily politicised new literature in Swahili. Central to the treatment of the issue is the role of intellectuals in the newly socialist state, their language usage in itself demonstrating many of the features of the relationship between state ideology and language.

The book is a sociolinguistic study which combines micro- and macro-sociolinguistic approaches as well as historiographic aspects of the topic. It addresses advanced students and scholars in the fields of general sociolinguistics, anthropological linguistics and Third World studies.

Jan Blommaert: State Ideology and Language in Tanzania [PDF]

 34,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-024-1 Artikelnummer: 024 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , ,

Beschreibung

1999
204 Seiten

Textsprache: Englisch

Die vorliegende Studie befasst sich mit der Frage, wie das Swahili – die Nationalsprache Tansanias – politisiert und in die Bemühungen zum nation-building eingebunden wurde, die mit der Einführung der Ujamaa-Ideologie im Jahr 1967 einhergingen. Sie untersucht dabei speziell den Einfluss und die Auswirkungen der Ujamaa-Ideologie auf die Entwicklung, Behandlung, Diskussion und Verwendung des Swahili in der postkolonialen Gesellschaft Tansanias auf ihrem Weg zum Sozialismus.

Neben einem geschichtlichen Überblick zur Ujamaa-Bewegung und der von ihr propagierten nationalen Kultur, in der das Swahili einen besonderen Platz einnahm, liefert die Studie eine sorgfältige Analyse zur Entstehung der intellektuellen und wissenschaftlichen Tradition im postkolonialen Tansania. Auf die Entwicklung einer nationalen linguistischen ‚Schule‘ wird ebenso eingegangen wie auf die Entstehung einer stark politisierten neuen Literatur in Swahili. Im Zentrum der Behandlung dieser Fragen steht dabei die Rolle der Intellektuellen in dem jungen sozialistischen Staat, deren Sprachverhalten viele Aspekte der Beziehung zwischen Staatsideologie und Sprache veranschaulicht.

Bei dem vorliegenden Buch handelt es sich um eine soziolinguistische Studie, die mikro- und makrolinguistische Ansätze mit historiographischen Aspekten vereint. Sie ist daher gleichermaßen interessant für fortgeschrittene Studenten und Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen der Allgemeinen Soziolinguistik, Anthropologischen Linguistik und Entwicklungspolitik sowie der Entwicklungsethnologie.