Judith H. Hollingsworth / Kenneth R. Hollingsworth (eds.): Dictionnaire Mofu-Gudur – Français – Fulfulde [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Mofu-Gudur – French – Fulfulde Dictionary

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-423-2 SKU: 423 Category: Tags: , , , , ,

Description

2008
10 pp. Roman, 502 pp.
3 maps, 10 b/w photos, 130 illustrations, 5 tables and charts, appendix

Text language: French

Mofu-Gudur, also Southern Mofu, is mainly being spoken in the districts of Mokong and South Mofu, in the Far North Province of Cameroon. The name Mofu was originally used as an umbrella term for the many related ethnicities and languages of the region. Beside the Gudur, there are many ethnic groups today, who accept that name. Dieu and Renaud (1983) describe Mofu-Gudur as a member of the Southern Mafa group of the Chadic languages. The Ethnologue (www.ethnologue.org) places it together with Giziga into a sub-group of the Biu-Mandara branch of that language family. According to SIL sources, today there are about 60,000 speakers of Mofu-Gudur, most of them living as agriculturalists in the Mandara mountain range.

Approximately 6,000 Mofu-Gudur terms are given with definitions in French and Fulani, a major lingua franca in Cameroon. They are accompanied by numerous descriptive phrases and illustrations. The appendix comprises of a description of the Mofu-Gudur number system, a short treatise of the orthography and the various transliterations into French and Fulani, numerous maps and a bibliography.

Thanks to the very descriptive definitions and examples given in French and Fulani, this dictionary is not only of interest to linguists and Africa scholars. It also aims at the countless Mofu in Cameroon and the diaspora, to give them a means of preserving their heritage and culture through their language.

Judith H. Hollingsworth / Kenneth R. Hollingsworth (eds.): Dictionnaire Mofu-Gudur – Français – Fulfulde [PDF]

 39,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Mofu-Gudur – French – Fulfulde Dictionary

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-423-2 Artikelnummer: 423 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , ,

Beschreibung

2008
10 Seiten römisch, 502 Seiten
3 Karten, 10 s/w-Fotos, 130 Illustrationen, 5 Tabellen und Übersichten, Anhang, Fadenheftung

Textsprache: Französisch

Mofu-Gudur, auch Mofu-Süd genannt, wird hauptsächlich in den Bezirken Mokong und Mofu-Süd im äußersten Norden Kameruns gesprochen. Der Name Mofu wurde ursprünglich als Sammelbegriff für die miteinander verwandten Ethnien und deren Sprachen aus dieser Region verwandt. Außer den Gudur gibt es noch zahlreiche andere Volksgruppen, die diese Bezeichnung akzeptieren. Dieu und Renaud (1983) bezeichnen das Mofu-Gudur als der südlichen Mafa-Gruppe der Tschadsprachen zugehörig. Der Ethnologue (www.ethnologue.org) platziert es zusammen mit dem Giziga in eine Untergruppierung des Biu-Mandara-Zweiges dieser Sprachfamilie. Laut SIL-Quellen gibt es ungefähr 60.000 Sprecher des Mofu-Gudur, die größtenteils von der Landwirtschaft in der Mandara-Bergregion leben.

Ungefähr 6.000 Mofu-Gudur-Begriffe mit Definitionen in Französisch und Fulfulde, einer wichtigen Verkehrssprache in Kamerun, werden hier mit zahlreichen beschreibenden Phrasen und Illustrationen untermalt. Im Anhang finden sich Hinweise zum Zahlensystem, Ausführungen über die Mofu-Orthographie und deren Umschreibung in das Französische und Fulfulde, zahlreiche Karten und eine Bibliographie.

Durch die anschaulichen Beispiele und die Präsentation in Französisch und Fulfulde ist dieses Werk nicht nur für Linguisten und Afrikanisten interessant. Es richtet sich auch an die unzähligen Mofu-Sprecher in der Diaspora, um ihnen ein Mittel an die Hand zu geben, ihre Herkunft und Kultur durch ihre Sprache zu erhalten.