Kenneth Kamuri Ngure: From Rendille to Samburu [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

A Consequence of Compromised Linguistic Fidelity

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-911-4 SKU: 911 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , ,

Description

2015
237 pp.
1 colour map, 2 colour photos, 2 b/w photos, 1 facsimile reproduction, 4 colour graphs, 4 diagrams, 111 tables

Text language: English

his study is an investigation of the factors responsible for the linguistic shift from Rendille to Samburu by persons who claim a Rendille identity and are, therefore, expected to speak Rendille language. The two languages belong to different language classification groups; the former is Cushitic while the latter is Nilotic.

The study had four objectives: to investigate the motivation(s) behind the Rendille–Samburu language shift; to identify discernable stages (phases) in the Rendille–Samburu language shift; to assess the impact of the language shift on the structure of Rendille language; and to establish whether or not ability to speak Rendille language is a useful factor in determining the Rendille identity.

In order to address the research questions and the objectives of the study adequately, the author adopted an eclectic approach that comprised of Giles, Bourhis and Taylor’s (1977) Model of Language Shift and Vitality and Fishman’s (1980) Bilingualism vs. Diglossia Model. Each of these models played an indispensable role in the study.

The study took the form of a field work survey with a mixed research design. Six settlements located within the Rendille territory in Marsabit District, Northern Kenya, were identified from which we picked respondents mainly through stratified and judgement sampling techniques. The settlements included Hula-hula, Karare/Songa, Log-logo, Laisamis, Kor and Kargi. Data collection was done using questionnaires, interviews, observations and focused group discussions and analysed by use of simple frequency tables and thematic analysis.

Kenneth Kamuri Ngure: From Rendille to Samburu [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

A Consequence of Compromised Linguistic Fidelity

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-911-4 Artikelnummer: 911 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2015
237 Seiten
1 Farbkarte, 2 Farbfotos, 2 s/w-Fotos, 1 Faksimile-Abbildung, 4 Farbgrafiken, 4 Balkendiagramme, 111 Tabellen

Textsprache: Englisch

Das vorliegende Werk untersucht die Faktoren des Sprachwandels von Rendille zu Samburu bei Personen, die sich selbst eine Iden­tität als Rendille zuschreiben und von denen daraufhin auch ange­nommen wird, dass Sprachkompetenz im Rendille vorliegt und die Sprache im Gebrauch ist. Beide Sprachen gehören ver­schiedenen Sprachfamilien an: Rendille der kuschitischen, Sambu­ru wiederum der nilotischen.

Kenneth Kamuri Ngure verfolgt mit seiner Studie vier Ziele: (1.) die Motivation zum Sprachwandel zu untersuchen, (2.) erkennbare Stadien (Phasen) des Sprachwandels zu bestimmen, (3.) die Auswir­kungen des Sprachwandels auf die Struktur des Rendille festzustellen und (4.) nachzuweisen, inwie­weit die Fähigkeit, Rendille zu sprechen, überhaupt ein geeigneter Faktor zur Bestimmung einer Zuge­hörigkeit zur Rendille-Gemeinschaft sein kann.

Um diese Fragestellungen und Ziele angemessen umsetzen zu können, übernahm der Autor einen eklektischen Ansatz bestehend aus Giles, Bourhis und Taylors’ (1977) Model of Language Shift and Vitality und Fishman’s (1980) Bilingualism vs. Diglossia Model. Jedes dieser Modelle ist eine unverzichtbare Grundlage der vorliegenden Studie.

Alle hier präsentierten Daten und Ergebnisse beruhen auf einer Feldforschung, die an sechs Rendille-Wohnplätzen (Hula-hula, Karare/Songa, Loglogo, Laisamis, Kor und Kargi) innerhalb des Marsa­bit-Distrikts (Nordkenia) durchgeführt wurde. Von hier wurden die Informanten überwiegend mithilfe von geschichteten Zufalls- und Nicht-Zufallsstichprobenverfahren ausgewählt. Das Daten­material wurde auf der Grundlage von Fragebögen, Interviews, teilnehmender Beobachtung und Gruppen­diskussionen erhoben und daraufhin anhand von Häufigkeitstabellen und thematischen Analysen ausgewertet.