L.T. Rubongoya: A Modern Runyoro-Rutooro Grammar (Bantu Language of Uganda) [PDF]

 69.80

Includes 7% VAT
 

EALD East African Languages and Dialects Volume 9

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-023-4 SKU: 023 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , ,

Description

1999
XX, 334 pp.
14 tables, subject index

Text language: English

The author, an experienced teacher and native speaker of Runyoro-Rutooro, describes all facets of this Ugandan Bantu language in a form suitable for linguists and laymen alike. After Guthrie, the language is classified as Central Bantu (J.10, Nyoro-Ganda, Tooro). Although the manuscript for this grammar was completed over ten years ago, Rubongoya can be regarded as a protagonist of a very modern trend among African intellectuals who have entered the international scene with writings on their history and culture only recently. These academic contributions challenge the traditional Western universalist approach and provide Africans and Westerners alike with insights available only to a writer from within.

In his grammar, the author enters into a dialogue with earlier European attempts at describing the Runyoro-Rutooro language, incorporating what is useful from this earlier literature, but discussing grammatical issues from a new perspective. He rejects, for example, the traditional use by Bantuists of the terms preposition and conjunction to describe aspects of the Runyoro-Rutooro language and opts instead for the term joining words to emphasize that the respective words and phrases have a different grammatical function from prepositions and conjunctions in European languages.

This book can be used as a work of reference for all those interested in the Runyoro-Rutooro language policy, its teaching at school and university levels, or in any further study of the language. Furthermore, the grammar can be of value to the comparatively oriented Bantuist, who can draw on material here which is actually in use, in contrast to the far-fetched language examples foreign experts frequently gather.

Under these links you will find an ethnographical publication by the author and grammatical descriptions, dictionaries and text collections of further Ugandan Bantu and non-Bantu languages and cultures:

You may also like…

L.T. Rubongoya: A Modern Runyoro-Rutooro Grammar [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-023-4 Artikelnummer: 023 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , ,

Beschreibung

1999
XX, 334 Seiten
14 Tabellen, Sachindex

Textsprache: Englisch

Im vorliegenden Band beschreibt der Autor seine Muttersprache Runyoro-Rutooro, eine in Uganda beheimatete Bantusprache. Nach Guthrie wird sie dem Zentral-Bantu (J.10, Nyoro-Ganda, Tooro) zugeordnet. Obwohl das Manuskript schon vor zehn Jahren fertiggestellt wurde, kann der Autor zu den Protagonisten einer sehr modernen Entwicklung unter afrikanischen Intellektuellen gezählt werden, die die internationale Szene mit Arbeiten über ihre eigene Geschichte und Kultur bereichern. Diese wissenschaftlichen Beiträge fordern den traditionellen westlichen universalistischen Ansatz heraus und gewähren dem Leser einen Einblick in das aus emischer Sichtweise Geschriebene.

Der Autor bezieht sich auf bereits vorhandene, von Europäern erstellte Sprachbeschreibungen und diskutiert grammatische Aspekte aus einer anderen Perspektive. So lehnt er beispielsweise für das Runyoro-Rutooro die in der traditionellen Bantuistik gebräuchlichen Begriffe wie Präposition und Konjunktion ab. Statt dessen plädiert er für den Terminus joining words, um hervorzuheben, dass diese Wörter oder Phrasen andere Funktionen ausüben können als in den europäischen Modellsprachen.

Dieses Buch kann als Nachschlagewerk für all jene dienen, die an Schulen und Universitäten unterrichten. Außerdem richtet es sich an alle, die an der Sprachpolitik oder an weiterführenden Sprachstudien des Runyoro-Rutooro interessiert sind. Für vergleichende Bantuisten ist die Grammatik besonders deshalb relevant, da davon ausgegangen werden kann, dass das hier vorgestellte Material im Gegensatz zu den oftmals weit hergeholten Sprachbeispielen der Vergangenheit hochaktuell ist.