Maarten Mous: A Grammatical Sketch of Mbugwe [PDF]

 24.80

Includes 7% VAT

Bantu F34, Tanzania

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-048-7 SKU: 048 Categories: , Tags: , , , ,

Description

2004
XIII, 70 pp.
12 tables, vocabulary Mbugwe-English, English-Mbugwe

Text language: English

The Mbugwe form a small ethnic group that live in Tanzania, Arusha province, Babati district, around the town of Magugu, in the villages Mwada and Mdori, and others. The Mbugwe numbered about 10,000 in 1910 according to Dempwolff but only 5,000 in 1967, and at that time this number was on the decline. For 1999 SIL estimates 24,000 speakers, and so it is still an endangered languge. According to some oral traditions the Mbugwe are originally Rangi people that moved northwards in search of salt and then settled there.

The neighbours of the Mbugwe are all non-Bantu. However, the present situation shows a different type of language contact: as a consequence of recent settlement of people from various parts of Tanzania in this rice-growing region the Mbugwe language is increasingly under pressure from Swahili. The present study is based on a short period of fieldwork in 1993. The poor state of documentation of this interesting language justifies the publication of this grammatical sketch which allows a short view on the richness of the Mbugwe.

The book offers an outline of the phonological and grammatical features of this small and understudied language. In addition to the grammatical sketch, three texts with interlinear glossing and free translation are included, as well as a Mbugwe-English lexicon with an English index added. This study is written to stimulate others to study Mbugwe and to undertake the task of writing a fuller grammar of this interesting language.

Maarten Mous: A Grammatical Sketch of Mbugwe [PDF]

 24,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Bantu F34, Tanzania

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-048-7 Artikelnummer: 048 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , ,

Beschreibung

2004
VIII, 70 Seiten
12 Tabellen, Vokabular Mbugwe-English, English-Mbugwe

Textsprache: Englisch

Das Mbugwe, eine Bantusprache (nach Guthries Klassifikation F.34), wird von einer kleinen ethnischen Gruppe in Tansania, in der Provinz Arusha rund um die Stadt Magugu und die Dörfer Mwada und Mdori gesprochen. Die Sprecherzahl wies lange Zeit eine fallende Tendenz auf, im Jahre 1920 betrug sie laut Dempwolff etwa 10.000, im Jahre 1967 lediglich noch 5.000. Für das Jahr 1999 werden von SIL immerhin 24.000 Sprecher angegeben, trotzdem gehört das Mbugwe zu den bedrohten Sprachen. Gemäß ihrer Oralliteratur gehören die Mbugwe ursprünglich zu den Rangi, welche auf der Suche nach Salz nordwärts wanderten und sich später in Tansania niederließen.

Obwohl die gesamten Nachbarn der Mbugwe keine Bantu sind, hat sich aufgrund von Zuwanderungen aus verschiedenen Gebieten Tansanias eine neue Sprachkontaktsituation entwickelt. So ist das Mbugwe nun dem enormen Einfluss des Swahili ausgesetzt und weist bereits Entlehnungen im Vokabular auf. Die vorliegende Arbeit basiert auf einer Feldforschung in Magugu im Jahre 1993. Die dabei gesammelten Daten wurden in diese grammatische Skizze eingearbeitet. Neben grammatischen Grundzügen werden die Phonologie und die Syntax dargestellt, gefolgt von drei Texten mit interlinearer Übersetzung.

Das Buch wird durch ein umfassendes Vokabular Mbugwe-English und English-Mbugwe abgerundet. Die bislang unzureichende Dokumentation wurde dieser vielschichtigen Sprache nicht gerecht, so dass die Erkenntnisse der vorliegenden Studie den Reichtum der Sprache erstmals veranschaulichen und zugänglich machen. Sie soll demnach den Grundstein für weitere Forschungen legen und einen Hintergrund für detailliertere Analysen bieten.