Marcello Lamberti / Roberto Sottile: The Wolaytta Language [PDF]

 69.80

Includes 7% VAT
 

Studia Linguarum Africae Orientalis Volume 6

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-040-1 SKU: 040 Categories: , , , Tags: , , , ,

Description

1997
664 pp.
numerous tables and charts, Wolaytta-English lexicon (pp. 272-563), appendices: Wolaytta terms of relationship, names of useful plants, denominations of social classes, selected Wolaytta sentences, Index English-Wolaytta

Text language: English

Wolaytta / Wolaitta is one of the major Ethiopian languages boasting around one milion native speakers (the Welayta / Wolayita). It is spoken in the south Ethiopian Provinces of Gamu Gofa and Sidamo along the banks of the river Ometo. Genetically Wolaytta belongs to the Ometo sub-branch of Omotic (West Cushitic).

The present volume consists beside of a short introduction containing some historical, anthropological and cultural notes on the Wolaytta people, of a detailed synchronic description of the language, a list of more than 1,200 lexemes alphabetically ordered and integrated by several probable cognates attested in other Cushitic languages, a corpus of more than 1,100 selected Wolaytta sentences and finally a lexical index.

The synchronic part of the work can be subdivided in three main parts: a phonological one devoted to the phonemic system of Wolaytta, a morphological one illustrating all the morphemes ascertained in the language and finally a syntactical part where the authors deal with the structure of the single clauses with their noun and verb phrases as well as several periphrastic constructions.

Under these links you will find the proceedings volumes of the international conferences of Omotic and Cushitic languages and further descriptions of Omotic languages and cultures:

You may also like…

Marcello Lamberti / Roberto Sottile: The Wolaytta Language [PDF]

 98,00

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-040-1 Artikelnummer: 040 Kategorien: , , Schlagwörter: , , , , ,

Beschreibung

1997
664 Seiten
zahlreiche Tabellen, Anhang: Verwandtschaftstermini, Nutzpflanzen, Berufsgruppen, Textkorpus, Index Englisch-Wolaytta

Textsprache: Englisch

Wolaytta ist eine der wichtigsten äthiopischen Sprachen, die von etwa einer Million Menschen in den süd-äthiopischen Provinzen Gamu Gofa und Sidamo entlang des Flusses Ometa als Muttersprache gesprochen wird. Aus genetischer Perspektive wird Wolaytta zu dem Ometo-Unterzweig des Omotischen (West-Kuschitisch) gerechnet.

Der vorliegende Band besteht neben einer kurzen Einführung mit historischen, anthropologischen und kulturellen Anmerkungen zum Volk der Wolaytta aus einer detaillierten synchronen Sprachbeschreibung, einer Liste mit mehr als 1.200 Lexemen in alphabetischer Anordnung und verschiedenen wahrscheinlichen Kognaten, die in anderen kuschitischen Sprachen belegt sind, und einem ausgewählten Textkorpus mit mehr als 1.100 Wolaytta-Sätzen und einem abschließenden Index.

Der synchrone Teil der Arbeit setzt sich zusammen aus einem phonologischen Teil, in dem das phonemische System des Wolaytta behandelt wird, einem morphologischen Teil, der alle Morpheme darstellt, die in der Sprache festgestellt wurden, und schließlich einem syntaktischen Teil, in dem die Autoren die Struktur von einzelnen Sätzen mit deren Nominal- und Verbalphrasen und verschiedene periphrastische Konstruktionen besprechen.