Marijn van Putten: A Grammar of Awjila (Libya) [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Based on Paradisi’s Work

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-941-1 SKU: 941 Categories: , Tags: , , ,

Description

2014
16 pp. Roman, 340 pp.
numerous tables, Appendices: Texts from Paradisi and Zanon, Lexicon

Text language: English

The Awjila language is a highly endangered Berber language spoken in oasis town Awjila in the Cyrenaica region of northeastern Libya. It has several features that make the language different from other Berber languages, such as a phonemic accent, schwa in open syllables and the retention of the Proto-Berber *β as v.

This book consists of three parts: the grammar, the texts and the lexicon. The grammar is the main analytical part, but could not exist without the in-depth study of the available Awjila texts and the lexicon. Due to the political situation in Libya, it was not possible to conduct fieldwork on the language. This presentation is therefore based on the published sources on the language. The texts and a word list by Umberto Paradisi are the most important of these sources.

The grammar contains a comprehensive discussion on the interpretation and analysis of the transcription and phonology. This part gives us many new insights into the interpretation of many factors of the language. Besides the phonology, the grammar also discusses the morphology of the noun and verb, and the syntax of the language.

In the appendix of the edition all published Awjila texts have been included, provided with a phonemic transcription and a word-by-word analysis. This analysis is essential for the understanding of the language, and it is referenced extensively in the grammar.

The lexicon contains all lexical material available to us on the Awjila language, with a new phonemic analysis of the transcriptions, and a full concordance of all the attestations of the words in its different grammatical forms in the available sources. The lexicon also contains some etymological notes, comparing Awjila to the other Berber languages which will aid future research into the linguistic history of Awjila and other Berber languages.

Marijn van Putten: A Grammar of Awjila (Libya) [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.

Based on Paradisi’s Work

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-941-1 Artikelnummer: 941 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , ,

Beschreibung

2014
16 Seiten römisch, 340 Seiten
zahlreiche Tabellen und Übersichten, Anhänge: Texte von Paradisi und Zanon, Lexikon

Textsprache: Englisch

Das Awjila ist eine stark vom Aussterben bedrohte Berbersprache, die in der Oase Awjila in der Cyrenaica-Region Nordost-Libyens gesprochen wird. Verschiedene Merkmale unterscheiden diese Sprache von anderen Berbersprachen, so zum Beispiel ein phonemischer Akzent, das Schwa in offenen Silben und die Beibehaltung des proto-berberischen *β als v.

Das Werk besteht aus drei Teilen: der Grammatik, den Texten und dem Lexikon. Die Grammatik macht den Hauptanalyseteil der Arbeit aus, könnte aber ohne die eingehende Untersuchung der verfügbaren Awjila-Texte und des Lexikons nicht existieren. Aufgrund der politischen Situation in Libyen war es nicht möglich, Feldforschung vor Ort zu betreiben. Die Darstellung basiert daher auf über diese Sprache veröffentlichte Quellen. Die Texte und Wortlisten von Umberto Paradisi sind hier als die Wichtigsten zu nennen.

Die Grammatik enthält eine ausführliche Diskussion über die Interpretation und Analyse der Transkription und Phonologie. Dieser Teil bietet zahlreiche neue Einsichten in die Interpretation vieler Faktoren der Sprache. Neben der Phonologie werden in der Grammatik auch die Morphologie des Nomens und des Verbs sowie die Syntax der Sprache diskutiert.

Im Anhang sind alle veröffentlichten Awjila-Texte – ergänzt durch eine phonemische Transkription und Wort-für-Wort-Analyse – enthalten. Diese Analyse ist essentiell für das Verständnis der Sprache, weshalb in der Grammatik regelmäßig darauf verwiesen wird.

Das Lexikon umfasst alle uns zugänglichen lexikalischen Materialien zum Awjila mit einer neuen phonemischen Analyse der Transkriptionen. Hinzu kommt ein vollständiges Wortregister aller Nachweise der Einträge in ihren unterschiedlichen grammatikalischen Formen in den verfügbaren Quellen. Das Lexikon enthält ebenfalls einige etymologische Anmerkungen, nämlich zum Vergleich des Awjila mit anderen Berbersprachen, was zukünftige Forschungen im Bereich der linguistischen Geschichte des Awjila und anderer Berbersprachen erleichtern wird.