Nicolas Quint: The Phonology of Koalib [PDF]

 69.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

A Kordofanian Language of the Nuba Mountains (Sudan)

with the collaboration of Siddig Ali Karmal Kokko

translated from the French by Philip Baker

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-552-9 SKU: 552 Categories: , Tags: , , , , ,

Description

2009
XVIII, 206 pp.
3 maps, 6 oszillograms, 59 tables, appendix

Text language: English

Koalib is a Kordofanian language belonging to the Heibanian branch. It is spoken by at least 100,000 people currently or formerly living in Sudan’s South Kordofan province. This book is devoted to the phonology of Koalib and has successive chapters dealing with its vowels, consonants, tonal system, syllabic structure, and orthographic traditions. This volume is the first part of a detailed, systematic description of this language. It will be followed by others on the morphology, syntax, and lexicon of Koalib.

The dialect chosen for this study is Rere, spoken around the town of Abri in the heart of the Koalib linguistic area. This Phonology of Koalib Language, the first of ist kind, is essential reading for everyone interested in the history, comparative studies, and classification of African languages.

This English edition is a translation of the original French version entitled Phonologie de la langue koalibe which was published in 2006.

Nicolas Quint was born at Poitiers (France) in 1970. He has a doctorate in linguistics from Université Paris III – La Sorbonne Nouvelle and is also a qualified agronomist. Since 2000, he has been working on the description of Koalib and currently holds the post of a “Directeur de Recherche en Linguistique Africaine” at the research centre LLACAN Langage, langues et cultures d’Afrique noire in Villejuif near Paris.

Siddig Ali Karmal Kokko was born in 1962 in the Abri region of Southern Kordofan (Sudan) and is a schoolteacher in Omdurman. His mother tongue is Koalib (Rere dialect) and, as the principal informant, he has made a vital contribution to the successful completion of this study.

Nicolas Quint: The Phonology of Koalib [PDF]

 69,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

A Kordofanian Language of the Nuba Mountains (Sudan)

with the collaboration of Siddig Ali Karmal Kokko

translated from the French by Philip Baker

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-552-9 Artikelnummer: 552 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2009
XVIII, 206 Seiten
3 Karten, 6 Oszillogramme, 59 Tabellen, Anhang

Textsprache: Englisch

Das Koalib ist eine kordofanische Sprache, die zum Heiban-Zweig gehört und von mehr als 100.000 Menschen in der sudanischen Provinz Süd-Kordofan gesprochen wird. Die vorliegende Studie beschreibt eingehend die Vokale und Konsonanten, das Tonsystem, die Silbenstruktur und orthographische Entwicklungen dieser Sprache. Sie stellt den ersten Teil einer umfassenden systematischen Beschreibung des Koalib dar, der weitere Bände zu Morphologie, Syntax und Lexikon folgen sollen.

Die diesem Werk zugrundeliegende Sprachvariante ist das Rere, aus der Gegend rund um die Stadt Abri im Zentrum des Koalib-Sprachgebietes. Es ist die bislang erste Beschreibung der Phonologie des Koalib und damit eine unumgängliche Lektüre für jeden, der sich für Geschichte, Vergleich und Klassifikation von afrikanischen Sprachen interessiert.

Diese englische Ausgabe ist eine Übersetzung des französischen Originals, das 2006 unter dem Titel Phonologie de la langue koalibe erschienen ist.

Nicolas Quint wurde 1970 in Poitiers (Frankreich) geboren. Er ist promovierter Sprachwissenschaftler und approbierter Agrarwissenschaftler. Seit 2000 arbeitet er an der Beschreibung des Koalib und hat derzeit eine Anstellung als Directeur de Recherche en Linguistique Africaine am Forschungszentrum LLACAN Langage, langues et cultures d’Afrique noire in Villejuif bei Paris.

Siddig Ali Karmal Kokko wurde 1962 in Abri in der Provinz Süd-Kordofan (Sudan) geboren und ist Lehrer in Omdurman. Er ist Muttersprachensprecher des Koalib (Rere-Dialekt) und hat in der Rolle des wichtigsten Sprachinformanten einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur erfolgreichen Fertigstellung dieser Arbeit geleistet.