Reinhard Klein-Arendt: Bridging the Unbridgeable [PDF]

 24.80

Includes 7% VAT

Historical Traditions of the Ngoni of Northern Malawi

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2003
93 pp.
2 maps, 6 drawings

Text language: English

The present study describes the history of emigration of the Ngoni – a people of Northern Malawi – on the basis of oral traditions. These Bantu people who originally were cattle breeders are closely related to the Swazi, Zulu, and Xhosa in both ethnic and linguistic way. At the beginning of the 19th century they emigrated from the southern KwaZulu-Natal to the western and eastern regions of the Malawi Lake where they settled spaciously.

The historical period is characterized by wars and expansion efforts of the Zulu which resulted in repeated emigration and refugee movements of the Ngoni to the north. This historical phenomenon is usually known as Mfecane. The reasons for those wars were desastrous droughts at the end of the 18th century which lead to enduring famines and an intense decimation of cattle. There were heavy military outrages concerning the access to water and pasture resources.

During his field research in the region in 1995 the author became aware of the fact that the orally transmitted contents of his informants are based on a written source: Yesaya Mlonyeni Chibambo’s work Makani gha baNgoni, first published in 1932 in the Tumbuka language, and in 1940 in an English translation with the title My Ngoni of Nyasaland. This important study constitutes the only exhaustive source of the oral historical knowledge of the Ngoni.

Klein-Arendt thoroughly analyzes the text and presents divergent statements of his Ngoni interview partners. The original Ngoni texts with the English translation follow an introduction into Ngoni history and the analysis of the Chibambo text. The work is therefore predestined for ethnologists and historians interested in African history, as well as for researchers in African Studies and in oral literature.

You may also like…

R. Klein-Arendt: Bridging the Unbridgeable – Historical Traditions of the Ngoni of Northern Malawi [PDF]

 29,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
 

Verbal Art and Documentary Literature in African Languages Volume 19

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.

Beschreibung

2003
93 Seiten
2 Karten, 6 Abbildungen

Textsprache: Englisch

Die vorliegende Studie befasst sich mit der Emigrationsgeschichte der Ngoni Nord-Malawis anhand von oralen Geschichtstraditionen. Diese ursprünglich Vieh züchtende Bantubevölkerung, ethnisch und sprachlich eng verwandt mit den Swazi, Zulu und Xhosa, wanderte zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem südlich gelegenen KwaZulu-Natal nordwärts und siedelte weiträumig in den westlichen und östlichen Regionen des Malawi-Sees.

Dieser geschichtliche Zeitraum ist gekennzeichnet durch die Kriege und Expansionsbestrebungen der Zulu und die daraus resultierenden Abwanderungs- und Flüchtlingsbewegungen der Ngoni nordwärts, gewöhnlich als das historische Phänomen Mfecane bekannt. Die Ursachen dieser Kriege werden in einer verheerenden Dürreperiode im auslaufenden 18. Jahrhundert gesehen, in deren Folge es zu einer starken Dezimierung des Viehbestandes und zu anhaltenden Hungerkatastrophen kam. Um die Zugangsmöglichkeiten zu Wasser- und Weideressourcen entbrannten schließlich heftige militärische Ausschreitungen.

Während seiner Feldforschung in der Region 1995 wurde der Verfasser darauf aufmerksam, dass den mündlich überlieferten Inhalten seiner Informanten eine schriftliche Quelle zugrundeliegt: Yesaya Mlonyeni Chibambos Werk Makani gha baNgoni, erstmals 1932 in der Tumbuka-Sprache und 1940 in einer englischen Übersetzung mit dem Titel My Ngoni of Nyasaland veröffentlicht. Diese einflussreiche Studie stellt bislang die einzige umfangreiche Quelle zum oral tradierten Geschichtswissen der Ngoni dar.

Klein-Arendt unterzieht dieses Werk einer eingehenden Textanalyse und präsentiert abweichende Äußerungen seiner Ngoni-Interviewpartner. Einer Einführung in die Ngoni-Geschichte und der Textanalyse des Chibambo-Textes folgen die ursprünglichen Ngoni-Texte mit englischer Übersetzung. Das Werk ist somit gleichermaßen für Ethnologen und an afrikanischer Geschichte interessierte Historiker, als auch für Afrikanisten und Erzählforscher eine Bereicherung.

Unter diesen Verweisen finden Sie Publikationen des Autors und weitere Beschreibungen zum Ngoni und Kulturen in Malawi

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen …