Roland Kießling (Hrg.): Iraqw Texts [PDF]

 39.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-927620-34-6 SKU: 34 Category: Tags: , , , , , , ,

Description

1998
X, 337 pp.
99 b/w photos, 2 tables, 3 figures, 2 facsimile reproductions

Text language: English

The present study contains the ethnographic works of Paul Berger. It deals with a multitude of genres which are of great interest for the analysis of Iraqw oral literature, like oral histories, trickster and animal stories, songs, riddles and description of games. Each text is followed by its translation into English.

Paul Berger recorded the texts between May of 1935 and February of 1936 in Mbulu and Dongobesh (Tanzania), where he stayed after he separated from the German East Africa expedition under Ludwig Kohl-Larsen (1934–1936) that he accompanied as a linguistic adviser.

During an expedition in Mbulu in July and August of 1993, Roland Kiessling checked through the content of the recorded texts and completed some gaps in the translations and in the grammatical theories. In addition, he collected further lexical material for the present study.

Roland Kießling (ed.): Iraqw Texts [PDF]

 39,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-927620-34-6 Artikelnummer: 34 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

1998
X, 337 Seiten
99 s/w-Fotos, 2 Tabellen, 3 Graphiken, 2 Faksimile-Abbildungen

Textsprache: Englisch

Die vorliegende Studie beinhaltet die ethnographischen Arbeiten von Paul Berger. Der Text behandelt eine Vielzahl von Genres, die für die Untersuchung von oraler Iraqw-Literatur von großem Interesse sind, u.a. historische Erzählungen, Trickster- und Tiergeschichten, Lieder, Rätsel und Spielanleitungen. Den einzelnen Iraqw-Texten ist jeweils eine Übersetzung ins Englische beigefügt.

Paul Berger zeichnete die vorliegenden Texte zwischen Mai 1935 und Februar 1936 in Mbulu und Dongobesh (Tansania) auf, wo er sich nach seiner Trennung von der deutschen Ostafrika-Expedition unter Ludwig Kohl-Larsen (1934–1936) aufhielt, die er als linguistischer Berater begleitet hatte.

Roland Kießling überprüfte während eines Forschungsaufenthaltes in Mbulu im Juli und August 1993 den Inhalt der aufgezeichneten Texte auf Fehler und ergänzte einige Lücken in der Übersetzung und in den grammatikalischen Thesen. Außerdem sammelte er weiteres lexikalisches Material für die vorliegende Studie.