Rose-Juliet Anyanwu: Reference Grammar of Yukuben (Jukunoid, Nigeria) [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
 

Westafrikanische Studien Volume 36

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-473-7 SKU: 473 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , ,

Description

2013
329 pp.
5 figures, 65 tables and charts, index

Text language: English

Reference Grammar of Yukuben describes and documents the grammar of Yukuben, which belongs to a group of about 20 languages of north-east Nigeria with approx. 350.000 speakers. The work consists of the following major parts: an overview (including, for instance, information on the geo- and socio-cultural background), phonetics and phonology, tonology, morphology, as well as syntax. All these incorporate information and data from the two major dialects − Bā-lāābɘn and Bá-líssà – as the case may be. The work is primarily meant for linguists, especially those working with/on African language data.

It is intended to shed further light on the knowledge of southern Jukunoid, Nigeria. The Yukuben language has – in comparison to other hitherto documented Jukunoid languages – a rich structure, and is, therefore, particularly important, especially for comparative and re­construction exercises on (southern) Jukunoid. Part of this richness includes a functioning noun class system, though with partly lost (and mutated) noun classes and agreement elements.

The methodology adopted comprises empirical findings and analyses based, on the one hand, on free texts and, on the other hand, on structured texts in form of a questionnaire. It was moreover based on a gender-friendly approach, whereby information was elicited from both female and male speakers of various ages.

Under these links you will find publications by the author and descriptions of further Jukunoid and other Nigerian languages and cultures:

You may also like…

Rose-Juliet Anyanwu: Reference Grammar of Yukuben (Jukunoid, Nigeria) [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-473-7 Artikelnummer: 473 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2013
329 Seiten
5 Abbildungen, 65 Tabellen und Übersichten, Index

Textsprache: Englisch

Das vorliegende Werk beschreibt und dokumentiert die Gram­matik des Yukuben, einer jukunoiden Sprache Nordost-Nigerias, zu denen etwa 20 Sprachen mit einer Sprecherzahl von etwa 350.000 Menschen gerechnet werden. Das Werk beinhaltet einen einleitenden Überblick zum geographischen und soziokulturellen Hintergrund der Sprache und ihrer Sprecher, ihre Phonetik und Phonologie, Tonologie, Morphologie und Syntax. Den vorgestellten Daten liegen die beiden Hauptdialekte – Bā-lāābɘn und Bá-líssà – zugrunde. Die Studie richtet sich in erster Linie an Linguisten, speziell jene, die mit Sprachmaterial aus afrika­nischen Sprachen arbeiten.

Das Ziel der Arbeit ist es, die Kenntnisse über die südlichen Jukunoid-Sprachen Nigerias zu er­weitern. Das Yukuben hat – im Vergleich zu anderen bislang dokumentierten Sprachen dieser Sprachfamilie – eine äußerst komplexe Sprachstruktur und ist damit besonders interessant für historisch-vergleichende Forschungen der (südlichen) Jukunoid-Sprachen. Einen Teil dieser Kom­plexität macht das – trotz teilweise verlorengegangener und veränderter Nominalklassen und Kongruenz-Elementen – funktionsfähige Nominalklassensystem aus.

Die empirischen Daten und Analysen beruhen sowohl auf Textmaterial als auch auf konzipierten Fragebögen. Die Studie ist auf einen gender-orientierten Ansatz ausgerichtet, wobei das Sprach­material mit Informanten unterschiedlichen Geschlechts und Alters erhoben wurde.