Sara Petrollino: A Grammar of Hamar [PDF]

 69.80

Includes 7% VAT

A South Omotic Language of Ethiopia

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-761-5 SKU: 491 Category: Tags: , , , ,

Description

2016
XXII, 342 pp.
3 maps, 9 diagrams, 76 tables, appendix: Hamar texts, Hamar–English and English–Hamar lexicons, subject index

Text language: English

This study focuses on the description of the phonology, morph­ology and syntax of Hamar, a language spoken by the agro-pastor­alist people who are known by the same name, and live in the low­er Omo valley of South West Ethiopia.

The study is based on 9 months of fieldwork carried out between 2013 and 2014 in Hamar territories. Language data was gathered from 14 native speakers in Hamar villages, and it amounts to 50 texts of varying lengths and genres. While the exact classification of Hamar remains controversial, this work points out, with­out any claim of completeness, various putative links to language families and groups.

The Hamar language is spoken by approximately 46,500 people (Lewis 2009). The Hamar refer to their own language as hámar aapó, and they form a cultural and linguistic unit together with the Banna and the Bashada. Their languages are intelligible, but show minor variations in the lexicon and in the phonology. The commonly accepted classification sees Hamar as a South Omotic lan­guage within the Omotic family of the Afro-Asiatic phylum.

Whereas there is general consensus on the genetic relationship between Hamar (including its dialects Banna and Bashada), Aari, Dime and Kara (that is, the South Omotic branch of the Omotic family), the controversy concerns the external relationships that this group of languages holds with Cushitic and/or Omotic, and at a higher level, with the Afro-Asiatic or the Nilo-Saharan phylum. The author concludes that am­biguous traits such as the Nilotic elements in the pronominal system or the Afro-Asiatic features in the verbal derivation are the vestiges of millennia of intense language contact that took place be­tween Afro-Asiatic and Nilo-Saharan.

Sara Petrollino: A Grammar of Hamar [PDF]

 69,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.

A South Omotic Language of Ethiopia

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-491-1 Artikelnummer: 491 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , ,

Beschreibung

2016
XXII, 342 Seiten
3 Karten, 9 Diagramme, 76 Tabellen, Anhang: Hamar-Texte, Hamar–Englisch und Englisch–Hamar–Lexikon, thematischer Index

Textsprache: Englisch

Der Schwerpunkt dieser Grammatik liegt auf der Beschreibung der Phonologie, Morphologie und Syntax des Hamar, einer Sprache, gesprochen von der Ackerbau und Viehzucht betreibenden und un­ter gleichem Namen bekannten Ethnie vom unteren Lauf des Omo in Südwestäthiopien.

Die Studie basiert auf einer neunmonatigen Feldforschung in den Hamar-Gebieten während der Jahre 2013 und 2014. Die Sprachdaten wurden mithilfe von 14 muttersprachlichen Informanten aus den Hamar-Dörfern erhoben und ergeben ein Korpus von insgesamt 50 Texten unterschiedlichster Länge und Genres. Während die exakte Klassifikation des Hamar nach wie vor kontrovers diskutiert wird, zeigt die vorliegende Arbeit – ohne jeglichen Anspruch auf Voll­ständigkeit – unterschiedliche mögliche Verbindungen zu Sprachfamilien und -gruppen auf.

Die Sprecherzahl beläuft sich auf schätzungsweise 46.500 (Lewis 2009), wobei die Hamar sowohl kulturell als auch sprachlich mit den benachbarten Banna und Bashada eine Einheit bilden. Deren Varianten sind gegenseitig verständlich, weisen jedoch kleinere Unterschiede in Lexikon und Pho­nologie auf. Der gewöhnlich akzeptierten Klassifikation entsprechend wird Hamar als Südomoti­sche Sprache innerhalb der Omotischen Sprachgruppe der Afroasiatischen Sprachfamilie einge­ordnet.

Während bezüglich der genetischen Verwandtschaft zwischen Hamar (einschließlich den Dialekten Banna und Bashadda), Aari, Dime und Kara (dem südomotischen Zweig der Omoti­schen Sprachfamilie) allgemein Übereinstimmung herrscht, liegen die Kontroversen im Bereich der externen Beziehungen dieser Sprachgruppe und zu den Kuschitischen und/oder Omotischen Sprachen und damit auf einer höheren Ebene zur Afroasiatischen oder Nilosaharanischen Sprach­familie. Sara Petrollino schlussfolgert, dass uneindeutige Eigenschaften wie beispielsweise die nilotischen Elemente im Pronominalsystem oder die afroasiatischen Merkmale in der Verbal­derivation lediglich Spuren des jahrtausendelangen intensiven Sprachkontakts zwischen afroasia­tischen und nilotischen Sprachen darstellen.