Sigrid Schmidt: South African |Xam Bushmen Traditions and Their Relationships to Further Khoisan Folklore [PDF]

 49.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)
To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-875-9 SKU: 875 Category: Tags: , , , , , , ,

Description

2013
X, 251 pp.
7 colour photographs

Text language: English

The present study focuses on the texts which Wilhelm Bleek and his sister-in-law Lucy Lloyd wrote down from dictations of Bushman prisoners in Cape Town between 1870 and 1884. This collection of nearly 13,000 pages has been published only in parts. It has only come to light over the course of the last decades how valuable this unique collection is as a source for further study of the spiritual world of a culture which has meanwhile disappeared. Researchers of various fields devoted studies to it, particularly to the tales. These tales were interpreted on the basis of the general |Xam material and a few further Bushman sources.

This investigation treats the texts for the first time within the framework of the general Khoisan folklore and compares more than 40 individual tales with related traditions of other Khoisan peoples, occasionally also with those of Bantu neighbours. As a rule, the comparison goes beyond a mere comparison of motifs. Basic questions of style and form of folktales, also in relation to international folklore, are discussed as well as the individual style of the three main |Xam narrators. In this way new insights into the trickster stories and the character of the trickster are gained.

Accordingly, the well-known |Xam trickster |Kaggen cannot be viewed as a prototype of Khoisan tricksters. Special emphasis has been given to the investigation of the ancient magic tales of the Bushmen whose character had not been understood because they were treated merely as animal stories. A concluding chapter examines the roles of men, women and children as heroes of tales.

Sigrid Schmidt: South African |Xam Bushmen Traditions and Their Relationships to Further Khoisan Folklore [PDF]

 49,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)
Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-875-9 Artikelnummer: 875 Kategorie: Schlagwörter: , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2013
X, 251 Seiten
7 Farbfotos

Textsprache: Englisch

Im Fokus der vorliegenden Studie stehen die Texte, die Wilhelm Bleek und seine Schwägerin Lucy Lloyd zwischen 1870 und 1884 in Kapstadt nach Diktaten von |Xam-Buschmann-Gefangenen niederschrieben. Diese Sammlung von beinahe 13.000 Seiten wurde nur teilweise veröffentlicht. Erst in den letzten Jahrzehnten entdeckte man sie als einzigartige Quelle für das Studium der Geisteswelt einer inzwischen verschwundenen Kultur. Forscher der verschiedensten Disziplinen widmeten ihr nun Studien, besonders den Erzählungen der Sammlung. Man interpretierte diese Erzählungen allein aus dem weiteren |Xam-Material und wenigen anderen Buschmann-Quellen.

Diese Untersuchung stellt zum ersten Mal die Texte in den Rahmen der gesamten Khoisan-Folklore und vergleicht über 40 einzelne Erzählungen mit verwandten Überlieferungen anderer Khoisan-Gesellschaften und der benachbarten Bantu. Dabei werden neue Erkenntnisse zu den Trickster-Geschichten und dem Wesen des Tricksters, aber auch zu den Tiergeschichten und Sagen erzielt. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt bilden die Untersuchungen zu den altafrikanischen Märchen der Buschleute, deren Eigenart bis jetzt nicht erkannt wurde.

Die Vergleiche beweisen, dass das Erzählgut keineswegs auf die |Xam beschränkt war, sondern Varianten einer großen Anzahl der Geschichten weit im Khoisan-Gebiet und gar bei Bantu-Gemeinschaften existierten. Die Gegenüberstellung der verschiedenen Überlieferungen hilft aber auch, manche |Xam-Geschichte besser zu verstehen und vor allem, um die Eigenheiten dieser |Xam-Traditionen deutlicher zu erkennen.