Thomas Geider: Motivforschung in Volkserzählungen der Kanuri (Tschadsee-Region) [PDF]

 39.80

Includes 7% VAT
Delivery Time: no delivery time (download)

Ein Beitrag zur Methodenentwicklung in der Afrikanistik

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.

Description

2003
424 pp.
1 map, 2 illustrations, numerous tables and figures

Text language: German

Whereas research in African oral literature has hitherto focused on individual languages and cultures, the author of the present study aims to develop a method to isolate recurrent narrative elements for inter-lingual and inter-cultural comparative research. Drawing on the methodologies developed by thematic, typological and motif research in the fields of folklore, cultural anthropology and literary studies, the author transfers them to Africanistics. Special emphasis is placed on the original linguistic manifestation of the texts which determines form and content of the transregionally important comparative units.

The study is based on 32 selected folk tales passed on among the Kanuri in north-east Nigeria and the bordering lake Chad region featuring heroic characters like the enfant terrible and the witch hunter. Structural analysis of the stories yields linguistic elements and narrative motifs that are further defined and evaluated in the context of Kanuri oral literature and culture.

In his conclusion, the author places his results in a broader West-African context that has been established in particular by French studies in African oral literature. He argues that this new methodology provides Africanists with the ability to conduct comparative research in oral literature.

Thomas Geider: Motivforschung in Volkserzählungen der Kanuri (Tschadsee-Region) [PDF]

 39,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Ein Beitrag zur Methodenentwicklung in der Afrikanistik

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.

Beschreibung

2003
424 Seiten
1 Karte, 2 Abbildungen, zahlreiche Tabellen und Übersichten

Textsprache: Deutsch

Bisher war die afrikanistische Oralliteraturforschung eher einzelsprachlich und kulturspezifisch orientiert. Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickelt der Autor eine Methode, wiederkehrend verwendete Erzählelemente auch für den sprach- und kulturübergreifenden Vergleich aufzubereiten. Hierzu rezipiert er die Methodik der Themen-, Typen- und Motivforschung der Folkloristik, Ethnologie und Literaturwissenschaft und überträgt sie in den Kontext afrikanistischen Arbeitens. Besondere Berücksichtigung findet dabei die Originalsprachlichkeit der Texte, die Form und Inhalt der auch überregional bedeutsamen Vergleichseinheiten bestimmt.

Das analysierte Korpus besteht aus 32 Volkserzählungen mit den Heldenfiguren des Enfant Terrible und des Hexenjägers, wie sie die Kanuri in Nordost-Nigeria und der angrenzenden Tschadsee-Region tradieren. Hierin werden sprachliche Versatzstücke und erzählerische Motive in der Struktur der Geschichten identifiziert, formuliert und im Kontext der Oralliteratur und Kultur der Kanuri qualifiziert.

In einer Schlussbetrachtung diskutiert der Autor seine Ergebnisse im westafrikanischen Rahmen, wie ihn insbesondere die französische Afrika-Erzählforschung herausgearbeitet hat. Die von ihm entwickelte Methodik bietet der Afrikanistik die Möglichkeit, auch in der Textforschung komparativ zu arbeiten.