W.J.G. Möhlig: A Grammatical Sketch of Rugciriku (Rumanyo) – A Bantu Language (K.334) of Northern Namibia [PDF]

 36.80

Includes 7% VAT
 

GA Grammatical Analyses of African Languages Volume 26

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-542-0 SKU: 542 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Description

2005
136 pp.
1 map, numerous tables and charts, subject index

Text language: English

Rugciriku (K.334) is one of two dialects of Rumanyo (K.70)Rushambyu and Rugciriku –, a Bantu language spoken in the region around the middle Kavango (Namibia / Angola) with some estimated 120,000 speakers. Considering its literature written by several native authors and its constant presence in the regional radio, it seems to be the culturally most active language of the four Kavango languages of today. Since 1988 a standardised orthography exists that although it was introduced by the apartheid government is fully accepted by the population by now. The present work therefore follows these orthographic rules.

The grammar comprises all fields of language structure. First, the phonetic and tonal system is described. The main part includes the nominal, pronominal and verbal categories as well as syntax, including complex sentence structures. Secondly, two linguistic interlinear text analyses, a word list of the used vocabulary (Rugciriku-English, English-Rugciriku), a bibliography and a subject index complete the study.

Rugciriku is object of the Collaborative Research Centre 389 Kultur- und Landschaftswandel im ariden Afrika (1995–2007) at the University of Cologne, Germany. The present study offers the scientific public further basic linguistic material of this collaborative research centre in a professionally edited manner. It is therefore an important component for the historio-linguistic comparison of the whole Northern Namibian area. Moreover it can be used as a practical reference book and linguistic instruction.

The author of the work is occupied with the Rugciriku since 1965. In 1967, he published a dissertation in German language in which the prosodic structure of this language is the focus of interest. In 2005 the extensive A Dictionary of the Rumanyo Language. Rumanyo-English / English-Rumanyo. Including a Grammatical Sketch was published in collaboration with a native counterpart (see the link below). Up to now a systematic grammar considering the whole linguistic structure was missing.

Under these links you will find publications by the author and descriptions of further languages, cultures and the (ethno)history of the Kavango region / northern Namibia:

You may also like…

W.J.G. Möhlig: A Grammatical Sketch of Rugciriku (Rumanyo) – A Bantu Language (K.334) of Northern Namibia [PDF]

 36,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
 

GA Grammatical Analyses of African Languages Volume 26

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-542-0 Artikelnummer: 542 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2005
136 Seiten
1 Karte, zahlreiche Tabellen und Übersichten, Sachindex

Textsprache: Englisch

Das Rugciriku (K.334) ist einer der beiden Dialekte des Rumanyo (K.70) – Rushambyu and Rugciriku –, einer Bantusprache, die am mittleren Kavango in den heutigen Staaten Namibia und Angola, gesprochen wird. Die Sprecherzahl wird auf etwa 120.000 geschätzt. Aufgrund seiner Literatur, die von mehreren einheimischen Schriftstellern verfasst wurde, und der ständigen Präsenz in Sendungen des örtlichen Rundfunks dürfte es sich um die derzeit kulturell aktivste Sprache unter den vier Kavango-Sprachen handeln.

Seit 1988 besteht eine standardisierte Orthographie, die zwar noch von der Apartheid-Regierung eingeführt, von der lokalen Bevölkerung aber inzwischen voll akzeptiert wurde. Dieses Werk folgt daher diesen Regeln. Die Grammatik umfasst alle Bereiche der Sprachstruktur. Zunächst werden die Laut- und Tonsysteme dargestellt. Den Hauptteil bilden die Nominal-, Pronominal- und Verbalbereiche, sowie die Behandlung der Syntax einschließlich komplexer Satzstrukturen. Zwei linguistische, interlineare Textanalysen, ein Verzeichnis des im Werk verwendeten Wortmaterials (Rugciriku-English, English-Rugciriku), eine Bibliographie und ein Sachindex runden das Werk ab.

Die Erforschung des Rugciriku gehörte zu verschiedenen Projekten im Rahmen des interdisziplinären Sonderforschungsbereichs 389 Kultur- und Landschaftswandel im ariden Afrika (1995–2007) an der Universität zu Köln. Mit diesem Werk wird der Wissenschaftsöffentlichkeit weiteres linguistisches Grundlagenmaterial aus dem SFB in fachgerecht aufbereiteter Form vorgelegt. Es stellt einen wichtigen Baustein für den sprachhistorischen Vergleich des gesamten nord-namibischen Raums dar. Darüber hinaus ist es aber auch für den praktischen Gebrauch vor Ort als Nachschlagewerk und sprachliche Orientierung geeignet.

Der Verfasser des Werkes befasst sich seit 1965 mit dem Rugciriku. 1967 hat er dazu in deutscher Sprache eine Monographie als Dissertation vorgelegt, in der die prosodologische Struktur dieser Sprache im Mittelpunkt steht. In Zusammenarbeit mit einem einheimischen Counterpart entstand 2005 das umfängliche Wörterbuch A Dictionary of the Rumanyo Language. Rumanyo-English / English-Rumanyo. Including a Grammatical Sketch (siehe Verweis unten). Eine systematische Grammatik, welche die gesamte Sprachstruktur berücksichtigt, fehlte bisher noch.

Unter diesen Verweisen finden Sie Publikationen des Autors und Beschreibungen weiterer Sprachen, Kulturen und der Geschichte der Okavango-Region/Nord-Namibia:

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen …