W.J.G. Möhlig / K. P. Shiyaka-Mberema: A Dictionary of the Rumanyo Language (R.70) – including a Grammatical Sketch [PDF]

 69.80

Includes 7% VAT
 

Rumanyo-English / English-Rumanyo. Including a Grammatical Sketch
SAL Southern African Languages and Cultures Volume 2

To view and read PDF documents, you need a PDF reader, e.g. Adobe Acrobat Reader or Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-601-4 SKU: 601 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , ,

Description

2005
459 pp.
10 tables

Text language: English

The Bantu language Rumanyo (K.70) is spoken in two dialectal variants – Rushambyu and Rugciriku – on both sides of the middle Kavango River in the northern part of Namibia. Approximately 120,000 people speak this tone language. It is used as medium at the local schools and in the educational literature, and it is supraregionally broadcasted through the Kavango Radio.

The intellectuals of the politico-cultural active class write belletristic literature in their native language, and they are getting more and more in evidence in the national context of Namibia. In the year 1965 Möhlig collected a list of words with 2,000 entries in Rugciriku, French, and German, in 1967 he wrote a grammatical sketch in German.

The South African apartheid government standardized the Rumanyo orthography in 1988. This was an essential precondition for the dictionary, which can therefore also be used by the native population. The authors succeeded in compiling a dictionary with 10,000 keywords in close cooperation with native experts – especially with the school inspector Karl Peter Shiyaka-Mberema.

The book is divided into three parts. The main part includes the Rumanyo-English wordlist with exhaustive information about every entry concerning grammar, syntax and semantics. The tonal rules for the context bound usage are marked graphically for every word, too. In addition, cross references show derivations as well as word formations. The second part consists of the wordlist English-Rumanyo. At the end of this book the reader finds a grammatical sketch. In this chapter the separate information parts of the dictionary are established a systematic correlation.

Under these links you will find publications by the authors, studies of the Rumanyo language and culture and further descriptions of languages and cultures of the Kavango region / northern Namibia:

You may also like…

Wilhelm J.G. Möhlig / Karl Peter Shiyaka-Mberema: A Dictionary of the Rumanyo Language – including a Grammatical Sketch [PDF]

 59,80

Enthält 7% MwSt.
Lieferzeit: keine Lieferzeit (Download)

Rumanyo-English / English-Rumanyo. Including a Grammatical Sketch

Zum Anzeigen und Lesen von PDF-Dokumenten benötigen Sie einen PDF-Reader, z. B. Adobe Acrobat Reader oder Foxit Reader.
ISBN 978-3-89645-601-4 Artikelnummer: 601 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , , , , ,

Beschreibung

2005
459 Seiten
10 Tabellen

Textsprache: Englisch

Das Rumanyo ist eine Bantusprache Nordnamibias (K.70), die mit den zwei dialektalen Varianten Rushambyu und Rugciriku am mittleren Kavango zu beiden Seiten des Flusses gesprochen wird. Die Sprecherzahl dieser Tonsprache wird derzeit auf etwa 120.000 geschätzt. Es ist Medium in den örtlichen Schulen mit einer entsprechenden Schulbuchliteratur und wird überregional durch Radio Kavango verbreitet.

Es gibt eine kulturpolitisch aktive Schicht von einheimischen Intellektuellen, die sich u.a. als Autoren schöngeistiger Literatur in ihrer Muttersprache betätigen und auch zunehmend im nationalen Kontext Namibias in Erscheinung treten. Zum Rugciriku wurden von Möhlig 1965 eine Wortliste von 2.000 Stichwörtern in Rugciriku, Französisch und Deutsch sowie 1967 eine Grammatik auf Deutsch verfasst.

Die südafrikanische Apartheid-Regierung hat 1988 die Orthographie des Rumanyo vereinheitlicht und damit eine wesentliche Voraussetzung zur Anlage eines Wörterbuchs, das auch von der einheimischen Bevölkerung genutzt werden kann, geschaffen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit einheimischen Experten, vor allem mit dem Schulrat Karl Peter Shiyaka-Mberema, ist es gelungen, ein Wörterbuch von annähernd 10.000 Schlüsselwörtern zusammenzustellen.

Das Werk hat drei Teile: Kernstück ist das Wörterbuch Rumanyo-Englisch mit ausführlichen Informationen zu Grammatik, Syntax und Semantik bei jedem einzelnen Eintrag. Mittels Akzentzeichen werden die Tonformeln jedes Stichworts für den Gebrauch im Kontext angegeben, Querverweise machen Ableitungen und Wortbildungen sichtbar.

Der zweite Teil besteht aus einem Wörterbuch Englisch-Rumanyo, wobei häufig auf die Informationen des Hauptteils verwiesen wird. Eine Kurzgrammatik, in welcher die Einzelinformationen des Wörterbuchs im systematischen Zusammenhang dargestellt sind, schließt dieses Werk ab.